Skip to content

I am pretty sure I need to go to work tomorrow!

May 26, 2014
by

It is amazing what you can get accomplished when you have two full free days!  I worked even longer today than yesterday in the garden and I ache all over.  Work will seem like a cakewalk after this weekend!  I got everything planted that I had either bought or was sent to trial.   My lantana is not coming back in any section of the garden–is yours?  I bought some new.  I also  bought some really unusual stuff yesterday, including sesame seed plants.  I will let you know what they do.  I finally found the grape o’licous toreniatorenia grape olicions.may24.14 that I loved last  year and I found sun patiens.  sun patien orange.may26.14. sun patien royal magenta.

 

 

 

I also got some really wild petunias called crazytunia.petunia crazytunia.may.14  I planted cat nip, bronze fennel, a hydrangea, hibiscus, mandevilla, phlox, verbena, coreopsis, nicotiana, impatiens, coleus, and two small fig trees, which my son digging helphelped me dig the hole for. It is not a raised bed yet, so you really needed a pick, but a young strong back helps.  He also carried my 12 bags of mulch all around the yard (that makes 32 so far this year) and I emptied 4 new bags of soil. I buy the smaller bags so I can carry them, but the mulch is heavy.   I spread it all, fertilized and edged the whole yard, then watered.  To me, mulch just finishes off the garden. It makes everything look so much more presentable, and hopefully it will help to keep the weeds at bay too.  I still need to get some rice hulls for the vegetable garden, but that will have to wait until next weekend or later.

My garden is coming together. I have the first blooms on my single gardenia today.gardenia first blooms1 and the callibrachoa I planted last week are growing nicely–I love the color combination. callibrachoa -mini famous double red and apricot3

The summer spirea japonica are loaded with pink blooms and blend in nicely with the pink flower carpet rose. ???????????????????????????????spirea japonica pink blooms may.143

I harvested my first raspberry today, and should get at least 20 by the time it is all said and done.  raspberry first flruit.may26.14It was really quite tasty.  I should have about a pint of blueberries one day too!  My newly planted fig has a small fig, so I am really quite the fruit grower this year.

I also got the pots on the deck and at the front door done today.  I used some of the bromelliads I bought at the Flower and Garden Show in February and those given to me by Jefferson Co MG’s back in March. They still look stunning. I am sure I will buy more at the MG State Conference. The Funny Farm will be there and I just can’t resist. They are so easy to take care of and give me color for months with little input from me.

pots front door may26.141When I was digging in some of the side beds to plant, the soil was so dry–even after I had run the irrigation system.  I am trying something new. I added just a small amount of the water holding polymer into the soil.  I will let you know if it helps.

 

Now for your mystery plant challenge for the week.

Sorry for the hodge podge of photo options– I am experimenting, trying to find a good solution for everything.  I am now off to the shower, and a couple of advils await!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Steve Smith permalink
    May 27, 2014 8:26 pm

    mystery plants 25 May
    A. ?

    B. ?

    C. Sweetshrub Calycanthus X raulstonii ‘Hartlage Wine’ cross of C. florida and C. sinensis

    Steve Smith

  2. dukeinsurance permalink
    May 28, 2014 6:50 pm

    I learned many years ago that gardening can relieve stress. So when talking gardening, remember that we plant in soil and it gives beauty to our environment. Lot more people would make the effort to try it they just may become addicted to it and not other things.

Leave a Reply

