Skip to content

Shopping, gardening and Mystery plants revealed

June 7, 2014
by

I was up and out early this morning to see what our local farmers markets had to offer. I have not been to one so far this year, so I had my tote bag and some cash and hit the LR downtown market first.

downtown market june.14.They had a decent crowd, but it wasn’t packed like I have seen in recent years.  They had a lot of non-vegetable items, including bread, seasonings, crafts and clothing.  I try to buy as much local fare as I can get, and came home with Arkansas blueberries, strawberries, raspberries!, squash, cucumbers, and snap beans. I also bought some Georgia peaches and they are wonderful.  One of our local growers also had purple kohlrabi which I had never seen before and I can now sample.

kohlrabi purple june.14.We loaded up and went to check out the Argenta market.  They had music in addition to produce and prepared items, but all are supposed to be locally grown and/or produced.

farmers market argenta june.14.1 farmers market argenta june.14.2

I got more locally grown strawberries, and some local cheese from Kent Westbrook, and some humus- feta spread from a local guy that is quite good.   Driving around town we saw a lot of tree damage from the straight line winds yesterday.  We saw huge trees uprooted and many more snapped off downtown.  The City of LR was in some neighborhoods helping with tree removal.

tree and city of Lr

Then it was home to drop it all off before heading to Cantrell Gardens nursery to pick up some plants and bagged super soil.  I have talked a lot about my super soil that I had delivered by truck last spring, but American Composting does sell it bagged at most local nurseries in central Arkansas.  It is good stuff.

supersoil.june14.

I renovated the veg garden and pulled all my lettuce and potatoes.  I replanted with eggplants and more tomatoes and peppers.  I also planted a rose bush I found on sale for half price and more summer annuals.   I used all that I bought and had to go back for another round and some mulch–I am now up to 40 bags of mulch this year.

My garden is coming together, but there is always more work that could be done. I have a new variety of a tropical hibiscus that is stunning right now.

topical hibiscus new variety. june14.2I finally have growth on the erythrina–coral berry plant. I thought it was a goner, but here it is growing.

??????????????????????????????? And my pineapple guava not only survived, but I had my first open bloom today with more buds to follow. I wonder if it will set any fruit.

pineapple guava bloom june7.14.

I planted, mulched, fertilized and watered today. It did get hot this afternoon and I finally had to call it quits. Tonight we had family over for dinner and I decided to get a step ahead to prepare before they arrived, and a good thing, because the storms starting coming in early evening.  Once again, the wind blew and it poured down, but it didn’t last too long, but I do have a lot of small branches down in the yard.

Here are the answers to the mystery plants from this past week:

Mystery Plant A =

mystery plant june 2.a. 2Clerodendrum thomsoniae (CLARE e DEN drum TOM son E a) commonly called the Bleeding Heart Vine or Glory Bower.  This old fashioned tropical is not winer hardy but can be overwintered indoors.  It has showy blooms all summer if it is kept fertilized.

 

Mystery Plant B –

mystery plants whenever2is Persicaria microcephala ‘Red Dragon’ (per-sih-KAR-ee-uh my-kro-SEF-uh-luh) is a great perennial foliage plant for light to heavy shade.  The foliage color ranges from shades of green to red and magenta.

Mystery Plant C was a common “what is that” at the state MG conference in Texarkana

mystery plant c june 22 The common name is Red Yucca, but it is not a true yucca.  Hesperaloe parviflora It has dark green long, thin leaves rising from the base with long spikes of pink to red to coral bell-shaped flowers which last from May through October.  This Texas native is exceedingly tough, tolerating extreme heat and cold and needing no attention or supplemental irrigation once established.  It is considered hardy through zone 7.

 

Persicaria microcephala ‘Red Dragon
Persicaria microcephala ‘Red Dragon
Persicaria microcephala ‘Red Dragon
One Comment leave one →
  1. Ann Wood permalink
    June 8, 2014 8:01 pm

    Please let me know if you receive this. I tried responding on a brand new email a while ago and it was returned to me as undeliverable–which makes me wonder if you have received some of my answers in the past because my computer did not tell me it was undelivered, my phone did. I’ll spare you all the details of my email problems with phone and computer. Hypericum aka. St. Johm’s Wort Ligularia Spigeleia marilandica aka. Indian Pink Ann Wood Date: Sun, 8 Jun 2014 02:32:06 +0000 To: annwood@cablelynx.com

Leave a Reply

