Skip to content

Fathers Day and Mystery plants

June 16, 2014
by

Yesterday was a whirlwind of activity and cooking, so I did not blog.  I hope all you Father’s out there had a great day.  We got to spend time with my Dad and I made him a small banana coconut cream pie from scratch–not my long suit, but he said it was good.

pie fathers day2

We took lunch over there and ate outside. The temperatures were mild, but it did get muggy.

fathers day.4 fathers day.5Then we came home and I started preparations for Clay’s favorite food–pizza.  I think I have perfected the pizza crust. I used a combination of bread flour and semolina flour and Clay thought it was better than what he had in Italy.  High praise indeed.  It had to rise 2 hours and then I rolled it really thin and everyone got to put their own toppings on their individual pizza.  This was my trial one to see how the crust was.  You can roll it to whatever thickness you like.

pizzaIt was a fun day.

Today was a busy day. I have 7 columns to write before I leave town, plus get schedules finished for Sat. training, advanced MG and today we were making copies of everything we need for our Pass the Torch luncheon tomorrow. I did not look up from 7:30 – 4:40 today, and have more to do Wed.

Here are the answers to last weeks mystery plants and your new challenges.

Mystery plant A June 9 – ???????????????????????????????Many of you did well on this one.  The common name is St. John’s Wort, but Hypericum (HI pear e cum) is the Latin name.  There are groundcover forms and shrub forms.  The shrub forms can produce very showy seed pods which are often used in flower arrangements.  Full sun to partial shade is best.

 

Mystery plant B = mystery plant b june9.is a shade perennial called Ligularia (LIG u lare ee uh) or commonly The Rocket.  It likes a moist, shady environment and blooms in June through early July.

Mystery plant C – mystery plant c june9.is another great shade loving perennial.  Commonly called Indian Pink (why, I am not sure since the flowers are red and yellow), the Latin name is Spigelia marilandica (spy-GEEL-ee-ah mar-i-LAND-ih-ka). It is a wonderful native plant for moist, shady gardens. It is herbaceous and dies back in the winter. Hummingbirds love this plant and it will form a small colony over time.

New mystery plants:

Mystery plant A. = ??????????????????????????????? mystery plants june 16.3Keep in mind, one man’s weed, another man’s wildflower.

Mystery plant B = mystery plants june 16.1is a perennial.

Mystery plant C – mystery plant c june 21.1 mystery plant c june 21.2is a groundcover.

Good Luck!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Phyllis J. Smith permalink
    June 16, 2014 7:40 pm

    Your pizza dough looks sooooo good. Can you post the recipe.

    • uamg permalink
      June 16, 2014 9:02 pm

      dissolve one packet of instant yeast in 1 1/2 cups of warm water with 1 tsp of sugar. Let it get bubbly for about 10 minutes. While it was doing its thing, I mixed 1 /12 cups of bread flour and the same amount of semolina flour in my stand mixer and put 1/2 tsp of salt in. I added the dissolved yeast/water mix and a splash ( 1 tblsp) olive oil and turned on the mixer with the dough hook. (I actually doubled the recipe for this one). Then I turned on the mixer on low until it was all mixed, then upped the speed to medium until the dough was smooth. The recipe said it would take 10 minutes, but mine was done in less than 5, maybe because of volume, I am not sure. Then I took out the dough hook, covered it with plastic wrap and let it rise for 2 hours. The recipe said it would make 2 pizza crusts, but I made 4 from the basic recipe–8 in all. We like thin crust, so I cut it into 8 balls. I used a few and have a few more to use in the fridge and froze the rest. I rolled it thin and it kept the shape. I cooked it on the bottom rack of my oven at 475 on my stone and it took about 10 minutes to cook after I added toppings. Quite tasty.

  2. rebecca permalink
    June 16, 2014 7:55 pm

    regarding your pizza dough: try King Arthur’s, “Italian Style” flour. It is a 00 ought milled flour along with the semolina. I order it from KA as it is not sold locally. Worth the effort. Bread flour or AP flour is too “stretchy”. Rolls out thin and stays that way.

  3. Dianne Percefull permalink
    June 17, 2014 5:51 pm

    Mystery Plants June 16, 2014
    A. Sensitive Briar; Schrankia nuttallii
    B. Chinese Indigo; Indigofera decora
    C. Creeping Jenny; Lysimachia nummularia

  4. Steve Smith permalink
    June 19, 2014 8:15 am

    Mystery Plants 16 June

    A. Littleleaf Sensitive-Briar Mimosa microphylla

    B. Chinese Indigo Indigofera decora

    C. Creeping Jenny Lysimachia nummularia

    Steve Smith

Leave a Reply

