Skip to content

Sunday –Housework and Birthday Celebration

July 27, 2014
by

I got out early in the morning to do some yard work before it got too hot, but it was humid already at 9:00 a.m. I used the weedeater until it died, I pulled weeds and harvested vegetables, and planted new okra and green beans. A ladybug jumped in to see what was going on.  I also deadheaded a few things, and watered in the new seeds.  My caladiums that I planted last Monday are already up and I should have full leaves in a day or two.

ladybug and veggies.july 2014.

I hate chambers bitters. I thought I had them all pulled last week and they are thicker than ever today, so I tackled them once again.

chambers bitters july 26.

My vegetable garden is not as good as last year as far as tomatoes and peppers, but I am harvesting almost daily–more cherry tomatoes than big ones, but I am harvesting some larger ones now too. I haven’t found much heat in my hot peppers–I think they are diluted by the rain too.  But the flowers are doing great. My impatiens have never been better,

sunpatiens july 27. impatiens double july27.

and the begonias are also thriving. I think this is the latest I have had a healthy and blooming tuberose begonia in the garden.

begonia dragonwing and tuberose.july26.

The sneezeweed (Helenium) is finally blooming and the hardy hibiscus are still producing dinner plate size blossoms almost every day.

hardy hibiscus july27. sneezeweed july27.2My indoor/outdoor weather station which I use daily had a glitch with the outdoor thermometer part a few weeks ago, and we haven’t been able to get it to work, so I have a new state of the art weather center. I am hoping to get it hooked up to keep the data on line, but I haven’t figured that part out yet.  This one gives me a ton of data each day, so I can really be ‘in the know” when it comes to my weather.  Clay set it up for me in the yard so I am good to go.

weather station july27.2

When it got too hot for me to stand, I came inside and cleaned the house and got ready for a dinner party for Clay’s Aunt Eloise who celebrated 88 years.  She sure doesn’t look or act her age.  She is always on the go.  We had a wonderful time visiting and of course, eating.  I told her I would make her anything she wanted. She said she loved the St. Louis ribs I made once when she came, and my mac and cheese and Brussels sprouts. I didn’t remember serving her ribs, but Clay made them, and I made everything else.  When she got here and started visiting with Clay, he said he didn’t know she loved ribs. She said those short ribs Janet made that time just fell off the bone! Well, we didn’t have short ribs which are beef, but Clay made some of the best pork ribs he has ever made and everyone had a great meal.  A great time was had by all.

aunt eloise 88 birthday.july27.14.1 aunt eloise 88 birthday.july27.14.3 aunt eloise 88 birthday.july27.14.5 aunt eloise 88 birthday.july27.14.6 aunt eloise 88 birthday.july27.14.9

Tomorrow is day 1 of a 3 part landscape design course Bob and I do every other year.  We have had a lot of interest and it is sold out, so it should be a good class.

Here are your mystery plants for the week:

Mystery plant A – mystery plant  july 2014. is a summer annual.

Mystery plant B – mystery plant july28.3 mystery plant julyis a native deciduous shrub

Mystery plant C – mystery plant july.1 mystery plant july.3 is a perennial.

 

good luck!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Dianne Percefull permalink
    July 29, 2014 2:10 pm

    Mystery Plants July 27, 2014
    A. Portulaca, Moss Rose
    B. False Indigo, Amorpha fruiticosa
    C. Society Garlic, Tulbaghia Violacea

Leave a Reply

