Skip to content

Still no rain!

August 31, 2014
by

I think we have missed the rain in Little Rock.  I haven’t had a drop of the promised inch or more.  Several of you have emailed to say you had rain in south and south central Arkansas, but nary a drop for me! I have watered all afternoon, and the yard could really stand a nice, steady rain.  I will not complain about the temperatures, which are definitely nicer than last week, with lower humidity too.

I did get some work done in the garden. Yesterday, when I was picking tomatoes I noticed that something had been eating the plants. I suspected a hornworm, but didn’t have my glasses with me, and couldn’t find any. I did today!! I could have found this one without my glasses–he was huge.

tomato hornworm aug31.14.1 tomato hornworm aug31.14.3 tomato hornworm aug31.14.4He had obviously been feeding for several days. I cut the stem and put him out as a treat for the birds.  I really don’t like to squish them.

I also worked in the herb bed, cutting back all the flower heads on the basil and mint.  I also harvested all the mushrooms I could find.  I filled up a box full–too bad they weren’t edible ones. I had all sizes and shapes with a multitude of new ones sprouting. I do think they were competing with water for the plants.

mushrooms aug31.14As I worked in the herb planter, I noticed a small tree frog attached to a basil leaf in full sun.  I am sure he was a tad warm, but didn’t try to jump even as I got close for a photo.

tree frog on basil.aug31.143In addition to working in the yard, we also had a chance to go bowling today. We used to try to go every week or two, but it had been a full year since we had been. Needless to say our first game was abysmal–Katie and I both had an 81, and Clay a 99.  I did end with a high of 149, so things picked up, but I also broke my bowling ball.  I didn’t think that was possible, but it chipped on one of my throws. I had that ball for many years, and I will now use it as yard art. I am in the market for an 11 pound orange ball!

We also had to buy a new microwave, as ours died this morning.  While we were at Home Depot, I ran through the garden center.  The vegetable transplants have arrived, but were pretty picked over–I think we may have been a day late. I did get one pack of broccoli, and thought I was getting some Brussels sprouts, but ended up with cauliflower–not my favorite, but we will get it planted and see how it does.

cole crop transplantsTomorrow is a bonus day as we celebrate Labor Day.  No telling what I might do.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sylvia "Tiger" Landers permalink
    September 1, 2014 7:19 pm

    Janet, Just wanted to let you know that my hibiscus trees from last year are blooming. I also have elephant ears that are blooming. Am I living in the Arkansas Twilight Zone? 🙂

    • uamg permalink
      September 1, 2014 7:29 pm

      Tropical hibiscus are still blooming and the Texas star red hardy hibiscus is still going strong at the office in the rain garden. Elephant ears and caladiums can produce a spath-like bloom off and on throughout the season. It has been a weird growing year, and I still want some rain!

Leave a Reply

