Skip to content

Speaking, meeting, planning

September 3, 2014
by

I guess I am getting befuddled, because I did not take any pictures this morning of the Men’s Garden Club group or my planning meeting with Debbie, Bob and Susan.  I had an early start to get to the Village this morning and as always they had a lot of questions. Our talk was on fall gardening.  Afterwards, I met at the same location with the Garvan Garden group to do final plans on MG Appreciation Day at Garvan Gardens which is slated for Sept. 29.  All Master Gardeners and County Agents get in free that day with their nametags.  Guests are always welcome, but will pay the normal fee of $10.  Golf cart rides will be available for $15 a person.  Pre-ordered lunch is also available–choose a turkey sandwich or pimento cheese.  You can pre-purchase a meal ticket on-line at http://www.garvangardens.org/purchase_tickets/default.aspx  Go to the dropdown box for Current List of Events and pick Master Gardener Day Lunch ticket and then either turkey or vegetarian.  Print out your ticket, and you are good to go.  The same site has many other events, including our Carson/Byers adding color to your fall garden workshop coming up in November.

You can bring plant samples for us to identify, and visit with other experts out and about in the gardens.   A full list of who will be in the gardens will be coming soon.  It will be a great day, so plan to come.

Then it was back to the office for more planning and writing.  Every upcoming weekend there are gardening events across the state. This weekend is a pollinators festival at the Learning Fields at Ft. Chaffee (outside Ft. Smith).  The event goes on from 9-3 with plenty to do. I will be talking on plants that attract bees.  Come join us.

I was a bit late getting home and my gardens needed water.  Their small taste yesterday, just did not cut it.  I started watering again, and harvested tomatoes, pepper, herbs and my first sesame seeds.  One of my new cooking magazines says seeds are the in-thing at restaurants these days, including white and black sesame seeds.  Maybe they knew I was growing them?!  I actually got the idea from Greene County, where farmers are growing them commercially. sesame seed harvest sept3.14

Each pod has four rows of seeds.  Once the pods dry, they pop open and the seeds just come out. Now to cook with them. I have lots more to harvest.

 

 

I once again have loads of mushrooms in the herb bed.  I hope I can eradicate them.

mushrooms sept3.14I also have lots of blooms on my Jubilation gardenias, and the Daisy variety is beginning to shed it’s old leaves.  Gardenias and many white azaleas are dramatic when they drop their old foliage with the leaves turning bright yellow before they fall. It usually occurs in late November/December so this is a tad early.

gardenias sept3.14.1 gardenias sept3.14.2I then went in and cooked dinner.  We had a healthy meal tonight. I used vegetables from the garden to make a chunky vegetable coulis with tomatoes, peppers, eggplant, onion, garlic, spinach and fresh herbs which graced the top of fresh spinach with red snapper and Israeli couscous. I had never cooked red snapper before and it was very good. We will have this again.

red snapper sept3.14.1 red snapper sept3.14.2 red snapper sept3.14.3

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sue Thompson permalink
    September 3, 2014 8:47 pm

    Thanks for sharing your pictures. How about giving us your recipe for that healthy dinner?

    • uamg permalink
      September 3, 2014 10:28 pm

      I just made it up. I took half an onion, 3 cloves of garlic, 4 different types of peppers from my garden, one small eggplant, and one carrot, and minced that in the food processor. Then I sauteed them in a little olive oil. When they were softened, I added about 10-12 cherry tomatoes and one larger one that I also put through the food processor with a handful of spinach, and basil and fresh oregano. I added a little vegetable stock and let that simmer with added salt and pepper. Then I dried the fish, used salt and pepper and herbs de provence on the fish. I lightly scored the skin side and then heated up a little olive oil and put the fish in skin side down for 4 minutes. Then I flipped it and cooked for another -3-4 minutes. I made the couscous, and put down some fresh spinach, topped it with the fish and put the vegetables over the top and the couscous on the side–voila! Quick and easy and delicious.

Leave a Reply

