Skip to content

A full day at the office

September 17, 2014
by

It was my last day in the office for awhile, so I had to make it count. I finished up two powerpoints and handouts to accompany them for my meeting tomorrow night in Ft. Smith at their monthly MG meeting, and for the program for the Flower, Garden and Nature Society program Saturday morning. Their meeting begins at 9:30 followed by a short meeting and then program at 10:00. They meet at the Northwest Technical Institute, 709 S Old Missouri Rd. in Springdale. My topic is Growing and Overwintering Tropical Plants in NW Arkansas. The program is open to the public, so come join us.

Then Julie and I met with Stephen to work on the website and how we can make things better. After that, it was work on MG Appreciation at Garvan, MG Facebook page, Flower & Garden Show, columns, and leadership. Before we knew it, it was after 4:30. Time does fly when you are busy.

It is not dreadfully hot, but it is still warm, and dry. We keep getting teased that we are about to have a storm, with dark, gray clouds, but then it passes without any rain. I watered when I got home and then started on dinner. We are a big soup family, and I had a soup request for dinner. I still have loads of my carrots left, and they are storing beautifully. I think it is amazing how long produce lasts when you pick it yourself, so I decided to make carrot soup. The family was not too thrilled with the suggestion, but they were amazed by the results, and loved it! I added some of my spicy peppers, garlic, onions, shallots and herbs and cooked it all down in some chicken stock and water, then pureed it with my stick blender. Instead of adding heavy cream, I added a little plain Greek yogurt. Healthy and delicious!
carrot soup sept17.14.1
Soup and a left-over empanada, and we had a great meal. Not only did we like it, it will go into our soup rotation, which we normally have once a week when it gets cool.

It was getting a tad dark when I walked the garden, but I still have a lot of color in my garden. I have loads of blooms on the Jubilation gardenias and more buds to open. my garden sept17.14.1 The SunPatiens haven’t stopped either–try these next season if you didn’t this year. The lantana also look amazing in shades of deep red and orange. gardenias and lantana sept17.14 I also love the euphorbias with their airy white flowers. Diamond Frost was the first one, but there are several other varieties now too. They love the heat and have not stopped blooming all summer. This really sets off the pentas and the tuberous begonias which have lasted the longest ever in my garden.
tuberose begonia and euphorbia sept17.141

tuberose begonia and euphorbia sept17.143
Even though the summer color is doing beautifully, we are beginning to see signs of fall. I have asters blooming, beautyberry is turning and we are beginning to see some fall color in trees and shrubs. I have some nandina and dogwood beginning to turn.
dogwood coloring sept17.14

nandina changing color sept17.141 I have also seen some color in red maples and Chinese pistache. I hope to see a little color on my drive north tomorrow.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lisa Wolf permalink
    September 17, 2014 7:45 pm

    Congratulations on your blog reaching 100 postings. I love your blog. I read it and you wear me out I think Janet does more in a day than I do in a week! Keep on you are great!
    lisa

Leave a Reply

