Skip to content

Yellow Jackets Saga

October 8, 2014
by

As most of you know my husband got stung blowing leaves off the deck by yellow jackets on Saturday, Sept.27.  I went out and bought hornet spray and we thoroughly doused the site two nights later. We sprayed again the next night and felt pretty confident that we had gotten them.  But within a couple of days we had more than ever. img-yellow-jacket-sting-88 We sprayed again, but it seemed to be doing little good, and they were getting more aggressive.  Friday night I was at the grill and one just flew up and stung my wrist and flew off. I can actually say it didn’t hurt all that bad, but it swelled up alarmingly. I think I must be allergic.

We barely went on the deck and didn’t even want the dogs to be left outside. I called our entomologists and got their suggestions.  One thought I could do it myself, while the other thought my idea of an exterminator might be good. My husband bought liquid Sevin–(they did not have Sevin dust) and I dumped it in the container where we were seeing the most activity.  Still we had more.

Finally, I called the exterminator. He arrived tonight. I would have come in a Haz-Mat suit, but he had on jeans and a long-sleeved shirt. yellow jackets oct 14.01 He was not the least bit intimidated and went to work on them, spraying with the immediate knock-down spray, then with the pack on his back, and back and forth.  Then he moved in and started pulling the pots out and raking back the leaves.  He sprayed some more.  yellow jackets oct 14.02At one point he had to replenish his sprays, but he kept going.  Amazingly, he never got stung. There were hundreds of yellow jackets.  He had some in his hair and one or two got on his shirt, but he said the spray had kept them from stinging.  Clay and I watched from the safety of our dining room in amazement and horror. yellow jackets oct 14.03

Finally he discovered the nest. It was on the deck level at the base of the potting bench in leaves that had collected.  It was HUGE! Our hero Oscar said it was the largest he had ever found.  It barely fit in a 2 gallon ziploc bag and was three to four levels deep.  Oscar worked on this thing for almost an hour but we feel confident that they are gone. yellow jackets oct 14.08 yellow jackets oct 14.10 yellow jackets oct 14.11

Oscar from Adam’s Pest Control is our new hero! yellow jackets oct 14.12He was the conquering warrior of our yellow jackets and he didn’t stop until he was sure they were gone.  He wanted a picture of the nest too to show his boss, since it is the largest he has seen.  Clay is taking it to his office tomorrow for show and tell.

As we were awaiting Oscar to come spray, one of Clay’s co-workers sent us this link:

http://www.fox16.com/story/d/story/61-year-old-swarmed-by-yellow-jackets-killed-in-ba/36061/EbOX1maJ-k-j9YktSCv2LA

Yellow jackets are not to be laughed at or ignored.  I will not attempt to spray any I see again–I have Oscar on speed dial!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Phoebe Sellers permalink
    October 8, 2014 9:46 pm

    And you couldn’t even get honey from these.

  2. October 8, 2014 10:23 pm

    Janet, You all are SO lucky, as you well know. Thankful for Oscar and your wisdom to call him! Marguerite

Leave a Reply

