Skip to content

MG Training

December 2, 2014
by

Today I was up before the cows and on my way to Heber Springs for MG training for Cleburne, Searcy, Stone, and Van Buren Counties. They met at a new location for me–the Heber Springs Community Center. GPS has no clue where the road is, but I made it with a little help from Goofy! heber springs community center. It is a really nice facility with great meeting space, a commercial kitchen, and an aquatics center.

They had a great class with a good mix of volunteers from all 4 counties, which will be a boost for all their programs. Today was their last day of training and a great lunch was provided by the Cleburne County Master Gardeners. The room got more crowded as the morning went on with many seasoned Master Gardeners returning for a refresher and to mingle with the new trainees during lunch. heber springs mg training dec2014.1 They said there were some icy roads in the northern tier of their counties, but I saw no problems. It was still 33 when I got up at 5:30 a.m. but my car said it was 30 when I made it to Heber Springs. I don’t think it was quite as cold when I left this afternoon, but it was a gloomy day all day. It is only 40 degrees tonight, so we got a bit of a break.

After dinner and clean-up I tackled a bit more of the house. It is coming together with all the boxes now in the attic and most things in their place. I could use another couple of days to tackle leaves, but that will have to wait for another day. Tomorrow I head to Mt. Ida.

I found this picture and while I think it is appropriate for many gardeners, I think zucchini, peppers or cucumbers should potentially replace tomatoes! saying This could also teach a man to garden and the whole community looks better–a good mantra for our Master Gardener program!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

