Skip to content

Grateful

December 18, 2014
by

The following quote was sent to me by a good friend and I wanted to share with all my gardener friends:
Let us be grateful to people who make us happy; they are the charming gardeners who make our souls blossom.
Marcel Proust

All of my charming gardeners make my soul happy! I am grateful each day for my family, friends and the wonderful Master Gardeners and staff I work with! Happy holidays to all of you. I am thankful for all of you!

Today was a whirlwind of activity with columns and photos flying out of my office. I also have started the process to get things ready for registering for the 2015 State MG conference, and we set up a new workshop at WRI on Petit Jean in March–yes, they are going to start doing horticulture programming again! and much more.

Tonight we had a great dinner at home, and I am always impressed when I can walk outside and pick produce to cook–I like having my own personal grocery store. We had potatoes with peppers I harvested several weeks ago, but onions from today. I also had fresh bok choy bok choy 2012 (2)from the garden with oven roasted cranberries which was pretty amazing. Kyle brought some fabulous sausages from HAM (Hillcrest Artisan Meats) and we had a feast! I also had a fire in the fireplace. It doesn’t get much better than this.

It is cold outside but so far plants are doing well. My vegetable garden looks pretty amazing and we continue to have fresh produce. Life is good!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Rebecca Loftis permalink
    December 18, 2014 9:58 pm

    Hi: I have 3 kinds of kale, broccoli, onions not quite ready, mixed greens growing well. I put the kale and greens in my smoothies. I also have leeks and artichokes that I hope will produce next year. I hope the horticulture programs will be helpful. I e-mailed the Earthbound website from California recently asking how they grew the beautiful carrots they grow organically. I got a reply that said find out what varieties grow best in our state which sounded like common sense advice. The seed catalogs do not tell us this so how do we know? The pictures are misleadingly beautiful. I hope you have a possible answer. I love gardening too and so do my children. Merry Christmas and Thank you

    • uamg permalink
      December 19, 2014 8:02 am

      You are too late to plant carrots now, but they taste better when harvested in the fall and winter, so plant some next fall. We don’t do as well with the long tapering type carrots, but the shorter varieties perform best. Royal Chantenay and Danvers Half Long are two such varieties. I grew a great crop last spring–which I am still eating from a mid summer harvest, but they were not as sweet as they would have been had they been planted in late summer/early fall and harvested in the winter.

  2. Gayle permalink
    December 19, 2014 11:54 am

    Janet, just wanted to let you know how much I appreciate you and truly enjoy reading your post. You are an amazing lady. Always so positive and happy. Thanks again for all you do to make the Master Gardner program a success.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • uamg permalink
      December 19, 2014 2:59 pm

      Thanks Gayle! I appreciate you as a friend and loved your smiling face and attitude helping with state conference. Happy Holidays! Janet

  3. Liz McKay permalink
    December 23, 2014 5:35 pm

    Your blog always brings a smile to my face.  Thanks so much!

    Liz McKay County Extension Agent Family and Consumer Sciences El Dorado, AR  71730 870-864-1916 (o) 870-864-1919 (f) lmckay@uaex.edu

Leave a Reply

