Skip to content

Mystery challenge and another new camera

March 30, 2015
by

Ok, I admit it. I am hard on cameras. But in my defense, I shoot daily, taking thousands of pictures annually, which can be daunting for a point and shoot camera. My criteria for a camera are that it shoot well in low light, take great close-ups and fit easily in a purse or small backpack. I have had two cameras give up the ghost on international trips and finding a replacement that worked well in the states was not easy. But my replacement Scotland camera was ok, but not great in low light or close ups–I am not saying it might be the photographer, but. . .

I got the camera late this afternoon, charged it up a bit and I have been experimenting, and I love it. The quality, color and sharpness, at least on day one is pretty amazing. Time will tell.

Here are some shots–my Japanese maple blooms unfurling: jap maple bloom mar30.15; my tulip magnolia in bloom ???????????????????????????????, rosemary blossoms (which I have been attempting for some time) rosemary blooms mar30.15 and the beginning buds on the red buckeye.???????????????????????????????. Blueberry blooms are now almost all open blueberry blooms mar30.15 and I love this peach centered daffodil daffodil peach center.mar30.15.2
I need time to get the feel for this camera before heading to France in a little over a month.

Tonight we joined our friends for dinner at Acadia–a wonderful meal cooked by a wonderful chef!
IMG_0041

IMG_0042

Here are your mystery plant answers for last week, and your new challenges.

Mystery plant A – mystery plant a.mar23.15. is actually a dogwood–Cornus mas, commonly called Cornelian cherry. The small yellow flowers come on before the foliage in early spring. It is grown as a large shrub or small tree. In the right environment, they do produce edible fruit about the size of a small olive. I have not seen much fruiting in Arkansas, but it could happen.

Mystery plant B – mystery plant march23.15 This plant is a wonderful perennial called Mertensia virginica (mer-TEN-see-uh) commonly called Virginia Bluebells. This spring ephemeral blooms in mid spring in partial to deep shade and then disappears during the heat of summer, to rebound the next spring. Easy to grow and quite lovely.

Mystery plant C was not properly identified by any of our gardeners (and Ann I apologize for not telling you you missed it) mystery plant c march23.15.3

mystery plant c march23.15.1 is an oft overlooked evergreen for the shade. Skimmia (SKIM-ee-uh) Skimmia is a slow growing dioecious evergreen with lovely white blooms in late winter to early spring. The male flowers are larger but the red berries on the females are quite nice. It grows in moist, acidic soils and could be grown state-wide, but would need a protected spot up north. These pictures were taken at Garvan Garden from plants Mrs. Garvan planted many years ago.

New plant challenges–all taken today with my new camera:

Mystery plant A- mystery plant a.mar30.151

mystery plant a.mar30.152 is another spring ephemeral

Mystery plant B – mystery plant b.mar30.152

??????????????????????????????? is a shade perennial

Mystery plant C – mystery plant c mar30.15.3

mystery plant c mar30.15.4 is another spring ephemeral.

Good Luck!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jean Crossno permalink
    March 30, 2015 10:12 pm

    What is the name of your camera, I need a new one

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • uamg permalink
      March 31, 2015 7:24 am

      newest canon point and shoot power shot G7x. This one is a tad pricey, but they have many versions that have less features and a lower price tag.

  2. Martha permalink
    March 31, 2015 8:19 am

    Always shopping for a new camera,same criteria. Can you share what you purchased? Looks like a good one.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • uamg permalink
      March 31, 2015 8:48 am

      newest canon point and shoot power shot G7x,

Leave a Reply

