Skip to content

A good weekend and packed and ready

June 21, 2015
by

I got more accomplished today and for those who asked, rice hulls are the byproduct left after they harvest for the edible grain of rice. It is light in color and light weight once you break the seal on the bag–the bag is a compressed bag weighing 50 pounds. mulching rice hulls. jun15.6
It spreads nicely and with help from my daughter we got the rest spread today and planted a few more things. We still could find no eggplant, so I will get an even later start when I get back. The first time I used it I was worried it would blow away or wash, and it did great, so I am hopeful again. We even used some in the back yard with the dogs. They are quite enamored with it at the moment–something new! The siding and window guys are almost finished and we are putting things back slowly. It should be done before I get back.

Julie and I leave in the morning for Minneapolis for the Public Garden Association conference. We will be there all week, getting back late Friday night. Then I will be in Conway at Saturday MG training the next morning. Have you looked at the forecast? It shows temps in the mid to upper 90’s all week with no rain, so I have the family on high alert for watering. I bought a new sprinkler today for the veggies, since the automatic one doesn’t get them all the way.

It was a busy but productive weekend, and the yard is in better shape–not great, and I got some done indoors, plus laundry and packing.

Here are the answers to last weeks mystery plants–I am using the seeds as this weeks challenge from yesterday. So far, you are doing quite well.

Mystery plant A – mystery plant a.june 15.15. is a plant everyone should be able to recognize with or without blooms. This is common privet – Ligustrum vulgare (lig-GUS-trum vul-GAIR-ee) and vulgar it is! This is one of the most invasive plants in Arkansas. It has clusters of white blooms followed by clusters of black berries which birds eat and drop. Seedlings are everywhere. If you find it in your yard, pull it immediately.

Mystery plant B – mystery plant b june15.15 had everyone stumped, and I may be wrong too. I got this sample (picture) from a county agent for identification. I believe it is some type of wild rose with rose hips, but that was my best guess. If you have other ideas, please share.

Mystery plant C mystery plant c june15.15 was a tricky one, since we wouldn’t expect to see this tree in Arkansas. This is an aspen tree in a MG yard in Carroll County. Aspens are not commonly found this far south, but while it is not growing in leaps and bounds, it is living.

Have a great week and Happy Father’s Day to all the dads out there. Hope you had a great one.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. William Taylor permalink
    June 22, 2015 8:16 am

    how are the rice hulls used

  2. June 22, 2015 9:25 pm

    Janet
    Could you please tell me where to buy the 50lb bags of rice hulls?
    Jean Harper
    harper4188@comcast.net

    • uamg permalink
      June 22, 2015 9:26 pm

      I bought mine at Farmers Association

Leave a Reply

