Skip to content

Non-stop Home-work!

July 17, 2015
by

Since I am working all day tomorrow and Sunday I took today to try to get both home and garden worked on, and I made progress–with a little help from my kids. Both of them arranged their schedules to give me about 2 full hours in the garden, and it made a difference. I weed-eated the entire front and side yard and put a dent in the back. my yard july17.151When the string gave, so did I. Katie mowed, and Kyle ran to get mulch and soil then they distributed it where I wanted, and I tore the bags and spread 10 bags. my yard july17.154

my yard july17.156 I also taught Kyle how to deadhead and he did a somewhat overenthusiastic deadheading of some perennials and roses. I also pulled weeds, planted the eggplants and some of the new plantsechinacea and vinca.july17.15., fertilized annuals, my yard july17.152

petunia picasso.july17.15tropicals and vegetables, and tied up the tomatoes some more and then watered.

When Kyle went for mulch I told him to look for a fig tree, since my aunt is giving us one in honor of Dad. We are trialing it in the planter from the Saline MGs on the deck before actually planting it. fig tree july17.15.1 I told the kids we wouldn’t plant it until we could gauge the amount of sunlight to see if the location had enough. Kyle was taken aback, and said how smart that idea was! It was a real hoot to garden with them both, and I will also say, strong, young backs and lifting ability helps a great deal! Although they didn’t last the whole time, they were a huge help.

It did not seem awfully hot until I finally went inside, and then I was appalled at how hot it was when I stepped back outside, but when you are out there in it, from early on, the gradual temperature change doesn’t seem quite so bad. I worked the garden from 8:30-12:45 then did housework the rest of the day before calling it quits at 4. The house is the cleanest it has been in a while.

If you have a common red buckeye, take a look at them. Mine is starting its fall senescence a tad early this year. It usually makes it until August. buckeye fall foliage july17.15.

This weekend we are supposed to get to 100 degrees. I guess it is a good thing I am working both days INDOORS.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathy Ratcliffe permalink
    July 17, 2015 8:14 pm

    Janet, Where did you get your eggplants? When I finally went to purchase some a few weeks ago, they were sold out.

    • uamg permalink
      July 17, 2015 9:02 pm

      I couldn’t find them here either, but I found some in Texas driving home last Sunday!

  2. Mary permalink
    July 17, 2015 9:00 pm

    Janet, I needed a nap after reading this! Your kids are real troopers.

Leave a Reply

