Skip to content

Gardening on the Rocks and home

September 16, 2015
by

The theme for the 2016 State MG Conference is Gardening on the Rocks 2016 mg logo
I always think of my yard as a rocky one, until I see what some of the folks in Carroll County have to deal with, and they have ROCKS! gardens eureka springs.15 (3)

gardens eureka springs.15 (11)

gardens eureka springs.15 (17)

gardens eureka springs.15 (19)

gardens eureka springs.15 (33)

gardens eureka springs.15 (51)

gardens eureka springs.15 (57)

gardens eureka springs.15 (65)

knight garden sp15 (1) Not only do they have rocks, but some of the steepest slopes you will find. But these gardeners persevere and they have created some beautiful gardens.

We started out early this morning to meet with the manager of Blue Springs to discuss their property. blue springs.sept.15 (1)

blue springs.sept.15 (11) After we were there in July, they had a flood and the springs were totally under water for 1 month! I cannot imagine. So, they are recovering and replanting. blue springs.sept.15 (2)

blue springs.sept.15 (3)

blue springs.sept.15 (5) They have great plans and should be in great shape for our conference next year.

Then we wanted to find a few more gardens to round out our tours. We started off with a few on our list, and we would run into someone who suggested another, and another, and pretty soon we had a full day, but we saw some gorgeous gardens.
gardens eureka springs.15 (5)

gardens eureka springs.15 (6)

gardens eureka springs.15 (20)

gardens eureka springs.15 (23)

gardens eureka springs.15 (33)

gardens eureka springs.15 (34)

gardens eureka springs.15 (54)

gardens eureka springs.15 (63)

gardens eureka springs.15 (67)

zinnias.sept15 (1)
It was getting pretty warm before we finished for the day, and after a late lunch, I was on the road. I never ran into rain, but I saw it from a distance, (my rain gauge did show .06 inches of rain) and I did see some lovely rainbows. rainbow.sept15 (1)
As I neared LR, traffic came to a stop and I sat on the ramp leading to the I 430 Bridge and the bridge for over an hour because of a wreck. But I did see a gorgeous sunset.sunset.sept15 (1)

sunset.sept15 (3) I finally made it home about 7 pm and my wonderful daughter had dinner ready and waiting for me. All in all, a good day.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

