Skip to content

Planning

September 18, 2015
by

Another hot dry day, but they say the weather is going to break Sunday. Let’s keep our fingers crossed.
I had my executive team in today to do some long-range planning-county 76 executive team.sept15.2preparing for when I am without support at the office for a few months, and coming up with a game plan. I cooked for them and made the apple roses I was exposed to twice this week–first via Facebook by Karen S and then I ate them in Berryville, cooked by Karen W. So now I made them, and yes, they are super simple and look amazing!apple rose1

apple rose2

apple rose3

It was nice to have a meeting without many distractions and then we toured the garden. It is not at its peak, but then does anyone ever say their garden looks good the day you see it?

Let’s hope for a break in the temperature and for some rain! We have 23 Arkansans heading to Iowa for the IMGC and some have already left for the pre-tour. We head out on Monday.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Shelly Moran permalink
    September 19, 2015 9:51 am

    Janet, what kind of dough did you use for your apple roses?

    • uamg permalink
      September 19, 2015 4:24 pm

      puff pastry. I am trying them now with some pears I got, so I added some red food coloring when I pre-cooked the fruit to see if they will have more color. I also used some caramel sauce I brought back from France instead of the apricot preserves recommended in the recipe. All you do is thaw out the dough, and cut it into strips. Then I painted on the caramel, then layered the apples, sprinkled some nutmeg and then overlapped the bottom and rolled them up. I am going to try not overlapping as much so I can make a few more. I will keep you posted. I don’t care for cinnamon so I left it out. sprinkle with that if you like it. Then cook at 425 for about 20 minutes or until golden.

Leave a Reply

