Skip to content

A bittersweet day

October 22, 2015
by

As most of you know, my father passed away in January, and mom died in 2006, so the family home went on the market in June. It has been a challenge dealing with two houses and two yards, and while it was quite sad leaving today for the last time, it was also somewhat of a relief to have sold the house. We closed this afternoon and it is done. biermann home.1505

sold sign.
My family and I have made many wonderful memories over the years at that house which we will always cherish. This past summer we had a garage sale, pool parties and my sister and I have made numerous trips moving things. I ended up moving things back into the house to stage it for sale, and it was amazing this past two weeks how much stuff I had to move! Between trips and meetings and office work, we have worked on the house, so there has not been much down time. My sister has come and gone numerous times from Arlington, Texas, but it is now emptied out and a new family will be moving in, making new memories. I hope they can enjoy it half as much as we did and it will continue to be a house filled with love.

Today, the last load was in my car and we walked the house and said goodbye. biermann home goodbye.1501

biermann home.1512Emotions ran high, but when one thing ends, another begins. My son will be buying his first home and closing on it in a few weeks, so it starts over. kyle sold sign.My own house and garage look like a garage sale waiting to happen, since it is a holding point!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Gloria McIntosh permalink
    October 22, 2015 6:10 pm

    Reading this made me teary eyed too. I know how you feel because I had to sell the home I grew up in a couple of years ago after my Mother passed. So many wonderful memories!

  2. Karen Sherman permalink
    October 22, 2015 8:05 pm

    Congratulations to Kyle!

    • Bren coop permalink
      October 23, 2015 11:12 pm

      We appreciate your relief on this house sale – on lots of levels… And also appreciate how well you cope with everyday! Congratulations on Kyle’s new house… And best wishes on the gillion other things you have going! Thinking of you.

      • uamg permalink
        October 24, 2015 8:16 am

        I am sure you definitely related and yours was compounded by a few miles in between houses! Miss you guys but it looks like you have settled in and are enjoying life. Happy fall!

Leave a Reply

