Skip to content

Another balmy December day and a mystery plant challenge

December 9, 2015
by

71 degrees in Little Rock with not a cloud in the sky. I ran my air conditioner in the car and had all the windows open at home, and some still are open! Wow! It is December and we don’t live in Florida! I even had to water a few plants today.

I have had several questions about where the mystery plant challenge went, but we were getting down to only one or two answering. When I reported that to the several inquiries, they said they liked reading but didn’t want to guess, but I am not sure about reinstating it regularly or not–weigh in with your opinion. That being said, I want your input on the following two plants. I think I have properly identified them, but the gardener thought (and was told) that both of these plants were staghorn ferns. I don’t agree, but you give me your ideas.
succulents.eud.dec151

succulents.eud.dec152

succulents.eud.dec153 Sorry the images aren’t the best quality, but light was bright!

Tonight my daughter and I went downtown to the Arkansas repertory Theater to see The Little Mermaid. the rep little mermaid. dec.153

the rep little mermaid. dec.152 It was outstanding. We saw a lot of our friends there, including Mr. Poinsettia Dr. Jim Collins from ATU. the rep little mermaid. dec.154He is a regular season-pass patron and has not missed one of the seasons performances in over 20 years! I was impressed. Today he also informed me he won the title of tackiest Christmas sweater on campus. jim collins tacky sweater contest. 15 I would have to agree, but I am thankful he changed clothes before coming tonight! He came in second place last year. Can you imagine what his competition looked like?

Walking through downtown tonight we saw some iris blooming –in December! iris dec15.15 They also have done a nice job in the sidewalks and tree planting using elevated porous surfaces so the trees can breath and get water. downtown LR dec.151

downtown LR dec.152

The Rep does an amazing job with their performances and they had a sold out audience. the rep little mermaid. dec.156In fact there aren’t many seats left for the entire run. If you can get a ticket, go! It truly was amazing.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Marilyn permalink
    December 9, 2015 11:07 pm

    I think you should have only one plant at a time in the plant challenge. I am trying to learn different plants and with one maybe I could remember it better and not confuse it with others on that day. Just one opinion. Marilyn

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Sheila Nash permalink
    December 9, 2015 11:26 pm

    The top plant looks like a night blooming cereus and the other two look like zigzag cactus.

  3. Lois Burks permalink
    December 10, 2015 6:34 am

    Janet,
    No, those are not staghorn ferns, but tropical cacti, epiphyllum oxypetalum, and another epiphyllum sp, the name of which I’ve forgotten.

    Lois Burks
    Saline County MG

  4. Linda Glickert permalink
    December 10, 2015 7:08 am

    Today’s mystery plant top photo rather looks like Queen of the Night, but not the other two. The other two pics do look like ferns, but leaves look too thick.

  5. Polly Williams permalink
    December 10, 2015 7:33 am

    The first photo looks like a Night Blooming Cereus. Don’t know about the others.

  6. Dianne Percefull permalink
    December 10, 2015 7:49 am

    Looks like two different varieties of epiphyllum. E. cooperi hybrid night blooming orchid cactus with the larger strap like stems and very fragrant flowers. The one with Smaller stems probably E. ackermanii. Both related to the Easter and Christmas cactus

  7. Maud Huber permalink
    December 10, 2015 8:13 am

    I agree that he first is staghorn fern. The second is probably a young cardboard fern? But then again cardboard usually has angular tip, not rounded

  8. Hilde Simmons permalink
    December 10, 2015 8:25 am

    The first one looks like my night blooming cereus to me. The second one I don’t know. Neither look like my staghorn.

    Regarding the challenge, I like it. Sadly many times I don’t have a clue.

  9. Joyce mendenhall permalink
    December 10, 2015 9:18 am

    The first plant looks like Epiphyllum orypetalum – night blooming cereus Joyce

  10. December 10, 2015 9:20 am

    Your plants mentioned above are not staghorns. One is EPIPHYLLUM “ORCHID CACTUS”. The other I think is in the same family and is commonly called RicRac plant. I have both and
    that was the info I found.

Leave a Reply

