Skip to content

Short sleeves on the first day of winter!

December 22, 2015
by

Today is the winter solstice, the longest day of the year and the beginning of winter, and it feels like spring! The mornings start out nippy, but especially on these sunny days, the temperature warms up quickly and you can be outside working in shirt sleeves. I spent the morning running errands and shopping and then after a late lunch I spent the rest of the day gardening. In December. . . in shirt sleeves! I had never pulled all the spent vegetables and I did that today and planted some more kale that I had gotten a few weeks ago. veg dec22 (1) I fertilized all the vegetables. I just love this Swiss chard. We eat it a couple of times a week, along with kale and if you prune judiciously you never notice. swiss chard dec22 (1)

swiss chard dec22 (3)
I pruned out some spent perennials, raked out leaves from the beds and pulled the summer annuals that were still holding on in the front beds and planted my leggy pansies. Then I fertilized those. I cannot believe how much is going on in the garden in DECEMBER. My loropetalum at the front door is almost in full bloom. loropetalum dec22 (1)

loropetalum dec22 (2) Several of the big leaf hydrangeas still have leaves on them and new buds are getting about an inch long. NOT GOOD> hydrangeas dec22.15 and even worse are the buds on my two fig trees. They are all turning green. I couldn’t get my camera to focus on the twig instead of the background, so I apologize for the photo. fig buds dec22 (1) There is no way to protect these for the next two months if we do get winter.

The Hellebore niger is in full bloom as it should be and the honey bees were working it today. hellebores dec22 (6)

hellebores dec22 (7) but the Hellebore orientalis is kicking into bloom as well, about a month early. hellebores dec22 (2)
I planted cilantro and parsley for winter herbs, and the parsley is doing great, but the cilantro is already blooming and turning into coriander with this mild weather. coriander and parsley.dec22 (1)

coriander and parsley.dec22 (2)

Maybe the persimmons were wrong and it is going to be a mild winter! Let’s keep our fingers crossed.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. mvjoyner@suddenlink.net permalink
    December 22, 2015 10:43 pm

    Longest night or shortest day.

    • uamg permalink
      December 23, 2015 8:07 am

      Glass half full or glass half empty! LOL>

  2. Hilde Simmons permalink
    December 23, 2015 5:21 pm

    You must be in your Australia mode. They had their longest day. We had our shortest. But who cares when we have such wonderful weather to enjoy. It may feel like spring a little too early, but the calendar now says it’s on it’s way. Can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

