Skip to content

Snow!

January 22, 2016
by

This time the predictions were spot on. Freezing rain and sleet started last night and turned to snow. I awoke several times during the night and it always amazes me how bright it is even at night outside when it is snowing. I thought I took some pictures last night of the beginning of the storm and would add to them this morning, but I had the card in the computer–not in the camera! Oops! This morning the world is a winter wonderland. snow jan22 (13)

snow jan22 (12)

snow jan22 (6)
We have a snow day, and as long as you can stay home this is nice. My husband made it to work safely and said it was slick, but not many on the roads. Since I do spend a lot of time on the road, I rely on the Arkansas Highway departments road conditions page on the web. They now have an ap for your phone or iPad which I downloaded Tuesday when I was in Fayetteville. It is called I Drive Arkansas and it gives you road conditions, construction information and more. If you travel the state, you need this. i drive ar ap1

It is already beginning to drip here. It is only 30 degrees, but it is supposed to get to 44 today. Unfortunately, anything that doesn’t clear off will refreeze, since it will be 24 tonight!

Some of my shrubs are really weighed down by the snow. I may go out later and lighten the load to prevent any limbs from breaking. snow jan22 (4)

snow jan22 (7) It kind of looks like the landscape has been covered in white frosting! snow jan22 (1)

snow jan22 (8)

snow jan22 (9)

snow jan22 (14) Stay warm and safe!

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 22, 2016 8:50 am

    Looks lovely. We didn’t get any in Montgomery county . . . yet anyway. Stay warm!

    Thanks,

    Grazzie

    Montgomery County Master Gardener Editor, The* Garden Voice* Editor, *comPOSTINGS Montgomery County* County 76, Master Gardener Advisory Council

    670 Big Fork Road Norman, AR 71960 870/334-6297 grazzieMG@warbritton.com

    On Fri, Jan 22, 2016 at 8:42 AM, In the Garden with Janet Carson wrote:

    > uamg posted: “This time the predictions were spot on. Freezing rain and > sleet started last night and turned to snow. I awoke several times during > the night and it always amazes me how bright it is even at night outside > when it is snowing. I thought I took some pictur” >

Leave a Reply

