Skip to content

Too pretty of a day to be inside!

February 18, 2016
by

I was inside for most of the day today, but it was a spectacular day outside. Too bad I wasn’t working in my garden!  I ran out for lunch with friends and had a great meal prepared by Chris. Since I was seated in the middle of the table I didn’t have access to my camera, so no pics.  On the way back in to the office I ran into our two OU Web Gurus loading up and heading back to California.  OU guys Don and Eric.16Don and Eric have spent a lot of time in Arkansas the past few years helping us redesign and perfect our Extension website.  This week they held focus group meetings with our end users to see how it could be improved. Since home horticulture is a huge part of our web hits, we used to spend a great deal of time together. This was the first time I saw them this go-round.  Really nice guys who are dedicated to their job.  Wish I had more time to spend with them and pick their brains.

As I was heading back in I took some pictures of plants in the office landscape.  Who can tell me what variety of magnolia this is: IMG_9347

IMG_9346 IMG_9345
I had a client call me yesterday to ask what variety it was, so they could buy one.

We also have a fairly large holly on the end of the building and as I was perusing the landscape, I noticed that half was bright yellow and half green. holly damaged114

holly damaged112

holly damaged111 You would think it was a golden variety, but the trunk is riddled with woodpecker holes and it appears squirrels may have also helped girdle it. The yellow parts will be dead soon.

I spent the better part of the afternoon working on photo editing and moving them to our shared drive and trying to do Powerpoints for next week and make sure all our speakers have what they need for the AFGS. I was late getting out of the office, and just now finished cleaning up from dinner–I finally made the roast chicken.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jane Gulley permalink
    February 18, 2016 9:21 pm

    She should have had Sam’s picture too!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • uamg permalink
      February 19, 2016 6:46 am

      Sam was the one taking the picture!

  2. Debra Alexander permalink
    February 18, 2016 10:37 pm

    Star magnolia

    • uamg permalink
      February 19, 2016 6:47 am

      Similar, but not quite. Star typically has more petals.

Leave a Reply

