Skip to content

Cars, races, trees and cooking

March 25, 2016
by

I spend a lot of time in a car driving the state, but I don’t know a lot about cars. I had a problem with my oil filter lid and no one could get it open so they sent me to the dealer. Since I didn’t need the work car for two days I took it in yesterday morning, and they also rotated and aligned my tires. I was able to pick it up this morning, so I can use it tomorrow when I drive to Lonoke. As I was pulling out of the parking lot, I realized the steering wheel had been lowered, so I pulled over to adjust. Not remembering exactly how to do that, I started pushing buttons. Somehow, I put my car in manual mode, not automatic–something I didn’t even know I had the capability of doing. I also don’t know how to shift all that much and this car has dials to manually shift with, but no clutch. I noticed it was running funny as I pulled onto the freeway and I couldn’t get it over 45 mph. I got off the freeway and pulled into a parking lot and pulled out my manual. I at first thought they had done something at the dealership, but after pushing more buttons at random, things were back to normal!

Then as we were driving my new car to the races, both of us were trying to figure out how to set the clock. It is supposed to do it automatically but it isn’t and it still isn’t set. We pushed a lot of buttons but it is still 45 minutes behind.And we have both read the manual and still can’t figure it out. One thing I did get to experiment with that I love is automatic cruise control. If you are in traffic, you don’t have to take the cruise control off, the car adjusts automatically! The things they think of. Now when will cars fly? flying car. I probably should sit down and read the manual some time!

Today we took our annual or every other year annual trek to Oaklawn with friends. oaklawn (1)

oaklawn (2) We sit in the Carousel lounge and have a nice meal, watch the races on a little tv at our table, plus we have our own betting windows and we have good company. I am not a gambler, but I do like to have fun. I take a limited amount of money and if I come home with any, I am a winner. Today I am only $2 down after all day–I was a BIG winner, cashing one or two tickets every race except one. As long as I am cashing tickets, I am winning. My husband doesn’t quite see it that way, as he takes things a bit more seriously and actually knows something about picking horses. I look at names and colors, and let me tell you, the color orange won quite often today! Clay would ask me how I knew to pick a certain horse that won, and when I told him the color orange, he quit asking. I had big hopes for a longshot Burnt Orangedini, but he came out winning, but I think fell to last place by the end. I actually got $21 for one $2 ticket, and I was elated. It was a lot of fun. We left after the 7th race after picking up my winnings, and then drove home.

It was much cooler than it looked today. As we were driving through a neighborhood to get to the main drag we came across these downed trees. tree fallen over (1)

tree fallen over (4)

tree fallen over (2) These caused a lot of damage!

Since I often feature crape myrtle trees that are butchered all over the state, I thought I would share a good example instead. crapes properly pruned (1)

crapes properly pruned (2) These trees are beautiful even without foliage or flowers. Much more attractive than this: crape murder jan2015 If people only knew the potential!

I have been hearing about the use of cooked cauliflower for pizza crusts. I found a bag of cauliflower shreds when I was in Mt. Home and it was about to expire, so I decided to try it. cauliflower pizza crust (3)I don’t even like cooked cauliflower but it was actually pretty good. First you steam it in the bag in the microwave, then mix it with an egg white, parmesan cheese, herbs andcauliflower pizza crust (2) you are supposed to use 1/4 cup of flour, which I forgot. Then you bake the crust on parchment paper, which I was out of, so I substituted. cauliflower pizza crust (4)

cauliflower pizza crust (5)You take it out and flip it, then put your toppings on. I just used cheese and olives plus herbs. I didn’t tell anyone what it was until after they ate it and liked it. It did not get done enough for me, but maybe if it had flour in it as it was supposed to, it might have been better. I will try again.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Wanda Madera permalink
    March 25, 2016 6:52 pm

    I so agree about the crepe myrtles.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

