Skip to content

Gardens, plants and friends

April 1, 2016
by

Both Sherrie Smith and I are speakers tomorrow in Cherokee Village for a spring gardening seminar. Since she was already in Searcy for another meeting we decided to meet up in Larry Colemans garden in Batesville. He had invited me to come by either going or coming home tomorrow so it worked well. The weather was downright cold as we walked the garden, but it was a fabulous walk in a beautiful garden.  

   

His garden is a sea of azaleas, rhododendrons, Japanese maples and many other plants as well. 

     

He had an almost white kerria 

 

He also a beautiful Carolina silverbells tree.  

 

Larry told us of a new shipment of plants at a local nursery so we stopped in on our way to lunch. 

 

On our way we saw a chicken crossing the road. By the time I got the camera out it had crossed.  


Then we drove to Hardy to explore before checking in this evening with the MGs. They took us for a wonderful meal and now we are settling in for the evening.  

 Come join us tomorrow. 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Reba Hargrove permalink
    April 1, 2016 11:10 pm

    Larry has a beautiful garden. I’d love to see that garden! You have the best of both worlds, Janet, and it’s no wonder you LOVE your job!

  2. Kaye Winningham permalink
    April 2, 2016 11:03 am

    When I visited Larry’s garden for the first and only time a couple of years ago and saw his
    bear, I emailed him twice to tell him he needs this bear I have that would be perfect in his garden. It is metal and about 2 and a half feet long. Because it is metal, it would be fine outside. I never heard from him. I have no use for the bear anymore, it was an accent piece to a “lodge” themed bedroom I had at one time. When you see him again, remind him I still have the bear. I would even bring it to him!! Maybe we could make a trade, my bear for a nice “little something” from his garden. haha

  3. Joellen Besrd permalink
    April 2, 2016 1:59 pm

    Did you ask why he crossed? You might have FINALLY gotten the answer.

Leave a Reply

