Skip to content

Plants, plants and more plants

April 8, 2016
by

Spring is here and if you have not been to a local nursery or garden center, run, don’t walk tomorrow–but go early. This is my first weekend with no plans, no work schedule and I am at HOME. I decided to take the day off to get prepared for the weekend ahead. Today my son and I went plant shopping. I knew it would be a zoo tomorrow, and I wanted to beat the crowds, but by afternoon it was pretty packed wherever we went. I made it to the first nursery at 8:30 a.m. and after 5 nurseries and 2 box stores and the grocery store, I was pooped and shopped out and finally home at 4:00. I think some of it was also sensory overload. plant choices apr.161

plant choices apr.162

plant choices apr.163Kyle was into edibles and I was into anything new. I also think it is still a tad nippy for the real heat lovers, so I stuck to fuschia, petunia, callibrachoa and the like. fuschia apr8.16

petunias apr8.162 I bought mainly unusual things including this lovely variegated alstromeria lilyalstromeria variegated.apr8.16 and a stunning columbine.columbine new.16

I did buy a fruiting pomegranate for myself,pomegranate plant apr8.16 and Kyle got a raspberry bush, goji berry, figs, and another pomegranate. I did not get pictures of his plants before I dropped him and them off. It was fun shopping with him and nice having someone to haul things for me.

There were many plants I did not buy but would love to have. These tree peonies were stunning tree peony.apr161

tree peony.apr163 and this curly leafed farfugium would look good in the garden too. farfugium crested.

I did have a load of super soil delivered (in bags) so I can get things planted tomorrow.super soil and while I did not buy any warm season vegetables or impatiens or sweet potato vines, I did buy two tropical flowering plants–mandevilla and a stunning hibiscus, along with a dragonwing begonia. dragon wing begonia apr8.16

hibisucs tropical pink.ap16 All of these plants made it to a killing frost for me in January, so I think we are past those now.

In keeping with my orange addiction, I found a deep orange petunia petunias apr8.164. It will look nice with the orange callibrachoa, orange calla lily, orange snapdragons and the purple of the bluebonnets will be a nice contrast. calla orange.16

callibrachoa apr2.16

snapdragons orange.1p16

Tomorrow should be a fun day planting. If you don’t have any plants to plant, there is no excuse. They are everywhere, and so many new things to try.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen Ann permalink
    April 8, 2016 9:09 pm

    Love your blog. Read it every day! I live in Texarkana and travel to Little Rock on occasion. Where in Little Rock can I find the Super Soil you use? I’ve not seen it here.

    • uamg permalink
      April 9, 2016 7:28 am

      Super soil is made in LR by American Composting. The local private nurseries sell it in bags and in bulk. If you have a truck, you can also go directly to American Composting and get it by the truckload. They make a similar product in Russellville too. You might check other composting sites across the state.

  2. Wanda Madera permalink
    April 8, 2016 9:09 pm

    I don’t know about super soil. Pls tell us.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • uamg permalink
      April 9, 2016 7:29 am

      Super soil is made in LR by American Composting. The local private nurseries sell it in bags and in bulk. If you have a truck, you can also go directly to American Composting and get it by the truckload. They make a similar product in Russellville too. You might check other composting sites across the state.

  3. Lynda permalink
    April 9, 2016 5:24 am

    Where did you find your dragon wing begonia?

    • uamg permalink
      April 9, 2016 7:29 am

      I saw them at ALL the nurseries.

  4. Kaye Winningham permalink
    April 9, 2016 10:30 am

    I have seen ORANGE Geraniums at Lowes !!!!!

Leave a Reply

