Skip to content

Gardening and sad news

April 9, 2016
by

It was a cool April day and a perfect one for gardening. I was out and about early and did my first weed-eating of the season, and surprisingly, there was plenty to do. I worked until the battery died, then picked up limbs and debris before lunch. As I was eating I got a phone call informing me that my first boss and long-time friend Betty Oliver had died in her sleep. Betty started work the year I was born (1958) and had not officially retired, continuing to work half-time as the head of the Extension Homemakers. obu betty.nov (8) Betty was the staff chair of the Pulaski County office when I started in 1980 and was an excellent first boss, mentor, friend and almost family member. She cared so much about all of us, but took special interest in my children over the years. Betty was recently honored by Ouachita Baptist as woman of the year for 2015 and was an amazing woman. My heart is saddened. She loved extension and was passionate about supporting it and was an excellent role model for me and so supportive. I could not have had a better first boss. She will be sorely missed. My heart goes out to Bob and the extended family.

After several phone calls, I was back in the yard and didn’t stop until late this afternoon. I got most of the pots on the deck planted mandevilla planter apr16

Hibisucs tropical apr163

container apr9.16and with help from son Kyle we got several new ones installed. help with planters.apr16
Many of the plants were extremely root-bound as I was planting. root bound plants.1p16 It really does help to break up the roots as you are planting to aid in establishment.

I planted several other plants in the front yard and also spent some time at my son’s to help him determine where to plant all the things we bought yesterday. The pick helped with planting tremendously, but it helped that a strong back was wielding it. digging holes. apr16 My back is aching today and I didn’t even use the pick, but tonight I feel like someone who is 90! I was too busy planting, watering and fertilizing to take many pictures, and will hopefully finish up planting tomorrow. I think an early bedtime is calling!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Hilde Simmons permalink
    April 9, 2016 9:11 pm

    I am sorry you lost your friend today.

Leave a Reply

