Skip to content

Accomplishments and celebrations

April 18, 2016
by

In our consumer horticulture/MG working group we started a new system of task management a few weeks ago–something we can all add to and share what we are working on or what we need to accomplish. I don’t know about the rest of them, but it has helped focus me a great deal and today I marked off about a dozen tasks in quick order. Sometimes we get so busy (and we might be aging a bit) and we forget things. Having them on an online message board that I can access anywhere makes it great! We are really getting close to MG state conference and there are many balls to juggle, along with columns, talks, etc. I felt like things were moving in warp speed today and there is something very satisfying in checking something off the to-do list.

I hope many of you read the Saturday story in the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette on the Arkansas Diamond program. I got quite a few emails about it today. These are the recommended list of summer annuals for Arkansas that are grown by Arkansas growers. They arkansas diamonds.agia.16 should be accompanied by this logo.
For this year we have Velvet Elvis plectranthus plectranthus velvet elvis in pot.16 Graffiti Red Pentas pentas graffiti red.16 and Sriracha Pink Cupheacuphea sriracha pink

Look for these plants plus the 2015 choices at local garden centers.

I love having a reason to celebrate, and really don’t understand people who don’t want to recognize their birthday or let people know their age. I will turn 58 tomorrow and that is an accomplishment, and a reason to celebrate. You are only as old as you feel, and some days I am 20 and sometimes 80, but most days I kind of like the late 50’s! I don’t think there is any limit to the celebrations either. I have been receiving cards and emails and Facebook well wishes for a couple of days, and tonight my older friends Beth and Martha Ray (who turned 58 in January) took me to a wonderful dinner. birthday dinner Monday (2) In addition to an outstanding meal, Beth gave me some extra “thyme” thyme (1) and Martha Ray is going to help me entertain with cheese, crackers and chocolates. Not only was it a wonderful meal, but the time spent with friends is one of the best gifts. I count this past weekend as a precursor to the festivities and will continue on all week. Once this birthday week is over I will look for something else to celebrate. Each day is a gift and a reason to have joy!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2016 9:50 pm

    Happy, happy birthday, Janet 🎶🌻🌸🌺

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. dismith11 permalink
    April 18, 2016 10:49 pm

    Count this as yet “Happy Birthday” from one of Pulaski County Master Gardeners. Your energy, your enthusiasm, your joy for life are a gift to us all.

    On Mon, Apr 18, 2016 at 9:40 PM, In the Garden with Janet Carson wrote:

    > uamg posted: “In our consumer horticulture/MG working group we started a > new system of task management a few weeks ago–something we can all add to > and share what we are working on or what we need to accomplish. I don’t > know about the rest of them, but it has helped fo” >

Leave a Reply

