Skip to content

Office, lunch, shopping and bread

May 4, 2016
by

It is always a nice treat to spend an entire day at the office, and today was one of those days. I spent the bulk of it on a new Powerpoint on tropicals and their care for next weeks workshop at Garvan Gardens. It is amazing at the array of tropicals we can find locally, but even more so on-line. I always encourage buying from local vendors, and getting ideas from catalogs and websites. I plan to go shop to see what else is available. We also worked on finalizing buses, programs, signs, and more for the state conference, plus we are already getting great registrations for our new Annual to Perennial event. annuals to perennials
This is a new event for first year members and their mentors if they have them. Seasoned Master Gardeners cannot attend unless they are a mentor and their mentee is coming. We are holding four of these events around the state in June. I expect great things!

Julie and I did take Holly to lunch today to honor her since we celebrated my birthday last week on her day. There were several bush-formed varieties of kousa dogwood in full bloom in the parking lot. kousa dogwoods may4.162

kousa dogwoods may4.163 These dogwoods have showy blooms, but they are masked a bit by their foliage. Our native dogwood blooms before the leaves come on, so you see more of the beauty of the blooms. After a great lunch, which I did not take pictures at–I know Holly and Julie are grateful, it was back to the office for the rest of the day.

Tonight I went shopping with my son for an early birthday present for him–patio furniture. We had to go to 2 stores to find it all, but it is helpful having a strong person to tote and load. kyle chairs.may162

By the time I got home all I had time for was a quick dinner of turkey burgers. But I have to share my bread story from last night. I was making corned beef and thought rye bread would be great for leftovers, so I had some rye flour and I found a quick recipe on-line, so I gave it a go. At 4:30 p.m. I mixed 3 1/2 cups of flour (part rye/part plain flour) with 2 teaspoons of salt and a package of yeast. After mixing that I poured in 1 1/2 cups of warm water, stirred, covered and let rise for 3 hours. When I got home from my meeting at 7:30 I stuck my Le Creuset dutch oven in a 450 degree oven for 30 minutes, then took out the very sticky dough, turned it into a rough ball and dumped it into the hot pan and covered it and stuck it back in the oven for 30 minutes. Then I uncovered it and let it go for 10 more minutes and it was the most incredible crusty bread on the outside and soft on the inside. The loaf was small and perfect for a few meals. We are all in love with it. bread may16 We don’t eat too many sandwiches any more and often waste bread. We may not buy bread again! I think any kind of flour will work and plan to add some extra things like flax-seed, sunflower seeds and oats next time. Easy and delicious.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Janet Hill permalink
    May 5, 2016 8:30 am

    Love reading your blog about the plants, but may have to try the bread recipe!

Leave a Reply

