Skip to content

Tropicals!

May 12, 2016
by

What do tropical plants thrive in? Heat and humidity. And what do we have in abundance every summer in Arkansas? Heat and humidity! Tropical foliage and flowering plants thrive in our summers, but most are not winter hardy. Today we spent the day discussing some new and old tropical plants for Arkansas gardens, orchids to love and grow, and houseplants. Then we talked about culture and care, and how to overwinter these plants or just buy new ones every year–my preference! We had a great group of attendees and they were loaded with questions. tropical workshop garvan may16 (2)

tropical workshop garvan may16 (5) My thanks to Garland County MG Yvonne Becker tropical workshop garvan may16 (8)for her fabulous presentation on orchids orchids.may12 (2)

orchids.may12 (3)and for my assistant Julie Treat for her great job on houseplants. tropical workshop garvan may16 (14)
I haven’t covered this topic as in-depth as I did today and I had a great time researching and putting the talk together. I also gathered some plants from local sources and ordered in some rare ones.tropical workshop garvan may16 (3) It was interesting to see the efforts put forth by Top Tropicals in their packing and shipping of the plants. They were all wrapped in a breathable netting,tropical workshop garvan may16 (16) and secured by soft ties to keep the stems intact and secure for shipping. tropical workshop garvan may16 (20) The plants were not quite bare-root, but bare pot. The soil packed root balls were shrink-wrapped but there is no container. I didn’t have time to pot them all up tonight, but I did loosen the ties and will pot tomorrow afternoon. tropical workshop garvan may16 (21)
It was one of the most enjoyable workshops I have done in a while. I think there was a lot of learning going on, and participants had time to view the gardens over their lunch hour. Our next Garvan workshop is on Invasive Plants July 19.

After we cleaned up and loaded up, I dropped Julie off at her house and went in and got a baby-fix. Aurin has grown so much and he is now making cooing sounds and I had him chortling! So cute.aurin and me.may12.16 He was engrossed in the fan in this picture, but soon after he was laughing. Babies are so sweet!

Then I made it home and unloaded the car and unwrapped more of the plant wrapping to make sure the roots could breath. I then had time to walk my garden. It was a much milder day than yesterday and it was pleasant to be outside. My rose campion has its first blooms.rose campion.may16, the hydrangea blossoms get bigger each day. hydrangeas may12 (1) The baptisia is huge, easily 4 feet tall and about 4 feet in diameter, and lovely with its mauve blooms. baptisia.may12 (2)

perennials my garden may16
I also saw some things I didn’t want to see, like poison ivy in my main gardenpoison ivy may12.16 and a problem with one of my potato plants. It appears to be blight, so I will harvest those new potatoes this weekend and get the plants out of the ground. potato disease may12 (2) If you can walk your garden daily, it will help with overall care of the garden. The sooner you spot a problem, the easier it is to control.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. zulamaud permalink
    May 13, 2016 12:55 am

    Do you know which Baptisia you have?

    • uamg permalink
      May 13, 2016 6:48 am

      I believe it is Twilite. It is huge, 4 feet tall and at least that big around.

Leave a Reply

