Skip to content

A full day in Hot Springs

June 7, 2016
by

I put a dent in getting everything unloaded and put up at the office from the state conference yesterday and wrote columns, caught up and the day flew by.  I left town early this morning to meet up with a group of Mississippi Master Gardeners who are in Arkansas for a garden tour.  They got caught up in that wreck yesterday on I-30 and sat for 3 hours, but they were still in good spirit today.  First stop was Garvan Gardens.  I gave them a brief overview of the gardens and went out with a group of them.  They had a few hours at the gardens.  garvan gardens june.7.1602 garvan gardens june.7.1604 garvan gardens june.7.1605 garvan gardens june.7.1608 garvan gardens june.7.1610

The Garland County MGs were wonderful hosts at the Southern Inspiration Garden with cookies and tea for our guests.  garvan gardens june.7.1603

I left them in good hands by 11 to get to the convention center for the state EHC conference. I saw quite a few folks I saw last week at our conference too.  state ehc conference.1601 state ehc conference.1603 There was a lovely tribute to Betty Oliver who ran the EHC program for many years and who recently passed away.  After their awards and a nice talk by UA President Bobbitt, it was time for the educational sessions. I did two on easy care roses.  I had two full sessions and loads of questions, so I was done by 4:45 and on my way home. The weather this morning was delightful at home and the gardens, but it heated up this afternoon.  While I was doing EHC things, the Mississippi State MGs had lunch at Garvan and then went on to the Avilla Community Garden and River Valley Horticultural Nursery. I heard they had a great experience and were quite impressed at both locations.

One thing I noticed at the garden this morning was this mushroom-like growth coming out at the base of one of the large oak trees.  garvan gardens june.7.1616 garvan gardens june.7.1617 When you see these near one of your shade trees, it does indicate some form of wood rot or decay.  Hopefully the tree is not affected, but it is something to be aware of and you need to monitor your tree. There isn’t much you can do to reverse decay or damage, but you hope the tree is healthy enough to overcome it and you want to keep it healthy by watering when dry.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Victor Ford permalink
    June 7, 2016 8:28 pm

    Hen of the woods. Edible but not sure from photo.

    Sent from my iPad

    Victor L. Ford, Ph.D., CF, RF

  2. Phyllis Barrier permalink
    June 7, 2016 9:44 pm

    Janet, what is EHC?

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • uamg permalink
      June 8, 2016 6:40 am

      Extension Homemakers Clubs

Leave a Reply

