Skip to content

I am home

June 14, 2016
by

I seem to be on the road more than at home these days. First 5 days in Eureka Springs for the state MG conference, then a week in Dallas  and gone 4 days next week for our new A to P (Annual to Perennial event, and then UA strategic planning on Mt. Magazine! Whew!  A busy time.  I just got home from a week in Dallas where I was using my candy striper skills and channeling my Florence Nightingale to take care of a good friend following surgery.  The week flew by albeit at a slower pace during the day than I am used to–busy a lot, but not moving fast.  I am happy to say the patient is progressing well and will be good as gold in no time.

I think we had more rain in Dallas than we did in LR, but my garden looks good. I got home tonight and walked the garden, harvested blueberries, green beans, lettuce, my first tomatoes, peppers and one raspberry!  Pots on the deck needed a drink, but overall the family did a good job.

The wildflowers up and down the interstate were blooming with coreopsis coreopsis may9.15and Queen Anne’s lace. queen annes lace

I saw quite a few other wildflowers in gardens in Texas, including the colored echinaceas echinacea colors.june16 If you look closely at the picture, the small red bloomer is a kalanchoe–they had them all mixed in the gardens. kalanchoe in garden (1)

I also saw a front yard that was all wildflowers with a few tomato plants thrown in–no lawn at all. rudbeckia gardenjune16 (3) rudbeckia gardenjune16 (5) rudbeckia gardenjune16 (7)

It was a good week with friends, but I am happy to be home, even if just for a few days. My husband had a good meal waiting, and the dogs and family were excited to see me.   Although I wrote columns and did some email from the road, tomorrow will be a big catch-up day getting ready for this second Saturday MG training (thank you Saline county and Julie for getting it off the ground last Saturday) and our new Annual to Perennial event which happens Monday in El Dorado, Tuesday in Clarksville and LR and Wednesday in Batesville. This event is for new Master Gardeners who trained the past 12 months plus their mentor if they have them.  It is always great to try new things and implement new programs, so let’s hope it is a success.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kerry permalink
    June 15, 2016 12:31 pm

    So good to have you back—can’t make it without my “Janet Carson Posts”!!! You were missed:))

Leave a Reply

