Skip to content

A hot day for gardening

June 16, 2016
by

I was planning to take either today or tomorrow off to have some time to get things done at home, since I will be working all weekend and out-of-town most of next week. It worked best for all schedules for that day to be today, but by 1 p.m. I was regretting that decision. It was HOT and HUMID outside. Either I am getting old, or I have not been outside enough lately, but whatever the reason, this weather took its toll on me today.

I was at Home Depot by 9 to pick up 15 bags of mulch and some Round-up.  Poison ivy poison ivy july.15.is beginning to spread in my yard and I decided to try something different to control it.  I got home and used the weed-eater throughout the front and side yard. Then I sprayed with Round-up on weeds and poison ivy, before covering with mulch.  I spread about half the bags today, and will try to finish the others maybe Sunday.

I harvested the rest of the potatoes, added new soil and planted okra in that bed, and I also renovated the raised herb bed.  herbs renovated.jun16 I pulled the last of the green beans and planted a few more pepper and tomatoes.  Then I fertilized everything, and watered.  Even though the sprinkler ran yesterday, my soil was dry as I was working in it. In full sun and with the high temps, you really need to monitor water needs.

I am quite pleased with the many hydrangeas in my yard. The big leaf ones have been in bloom now since mid May and still look spectacular.  hydrangea june16.164 hydrangea june16.166 hydrangea june16.167 Even in this heat, there has been no wilting.  The paniculata and arborescens are just beginning to bloom and they should be great for a few months as well. hydrangea paniculata jun16.16 hydrangea june16.161 hydrangea june16.162 hydrangea june16.163

The blue star creeper (Isotoma) is spreading nicely and really is a great groundcover/low perennial. I have been quite impressed with it this season. blue star creeper isotoma.jun16

My summer annuals are filling in nicely and I got them all fertilized and watered as well. annuals.jun16

I thankfully had an excuse to quit by 1:15 to take friends to the airport. I was as red as a beet as I got in the shower–a cold one at that. I felt a bit queasy even.  After I got back home, I finished up by fertilizing the plants on the deck and watering–they are drying out daily now with this heat.

iochroma jun16.16 jasmine jun16.16The purple iochroma has not stopped blooming since I got it–I am impressed.  I also went and looked at the garden, and some of the weeds were already browning from my shot of Round-up.round up weeds.jun16.16 The poison ivy doesn’t look daunted yet, but time will tell.   I have more plants to plant, but I ran out of energy, so they will have to wait. They are all well-watered, so hopefully will be fine.

Tomorrow I will be inside in air-conditioning working at the office, sounds like bliss!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Cydney Smith permalink
    June 17, 2016 12:49 am

    Who do you use for sprinkler repair?

    • uamg permalink
      June 17, 2016 10:57 am

      John Virden, All Outdoors Landscaping.

  2. Phyllis permalink
    June 17, 2016 1:59 am

    What is your fertilizer?

    Phyllis Henley MTN Home

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • uamg permalink
      June 17, 2016 10:56 am

      I use a variety of products. Most are fairly complete–10-10-10, but I do have one I am using now that is 10-6-8. Granular for the gardens, and water soluble for pots on the deck. Janet

Leave a Reply

