Skip to content

Strategic plans are planned, and home at last

June 23, 2016
by

It has been a whirlwind three weeks, with more nights spent away from home, than at home. I am doing a little traveling in the coming weeks, but I will be home at night.  We finished up the first phase of the Division of Agriculture’s Strategic Plan this afternoon and headed home. Mt. Magazine lodge is a nice place to have an event and there was a lot of collaboration and thinking going on in the various sections of the strategic plan. I am happy to announce that we got consumers and Master Gardeners into the plan, so I am pleased–and others had it in the plan BEFORE I got to the meeting.

We were leaving the lodge on the eve of the annual butterfly festival. The gardens that the Logan County MGs maintain look great, and I did get to visit with the butterfly queen, MG Lori Spencer this morning before our meeting began. She was doing what all of us are doing these days–watering!  There were a lot of great wildflowers in bloom, and I did see a few butterflies, but did not get one in the picture.  wildflowers. jun16 (9) wildflowers. jun16 (1) shasta daisies jun16 (1) russian sage. monarda jun16 (1) liatris (1)  I also really like these single marigolds, and think I will seed some soon. marigolds single. june16 (2)  Seeding marigolds mid-summer allows them to come up and grow without many problems with spider mites–and they last up until a killing frost.

I turned on the sprinkler system as soon as I got in, and have not even walked the gardens yet. I will wait for it to cool off before heading outside.

Today is also our 32 wedding anniversary.  carson wedding june1984 (3) We don’t look a bit different than we did then!

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 23, 2016 8:14 pm

    CONGRATS and may you have many more to share!!!

Leave a Reply

