Skip to content

An almost full day at the office

June 24, 2016
by

Before heading to the office, I met up with one of the folks from UALR to look at a flower bed, where the plants keep dying. Typically when plant after plant dies in the same spot, it isn’t a disease of insect but something wrong with the site. I suspect poor drainage.  The Otto Luyken laurels would be a bit happier in our climate in a bit of afternoon shade, but the soil seemed pretty heavy.  They weren’t sure how long they had been planted, but I could see no new signs of root growth. These plants are not drought tolerant, but they can’t stand wet feet either. I recommended testing drainage and opting for a different shrub once soil is amended and drainage is checked. ualr planting (4) ualr planting (7) ualr planting (9) ualr planting (11) ualr planting (12)

Then I made it to the office, where I caught up on mail and wrote a few columns, worked on budgets and evals from state conference.  We also took Holly to lunch today. She is now cancer free and they are reconnecting her on Monday, so we will be without her for a few weeks, so we wanted to send her off in high spirits and well fed, since she won’t be able to eat much for a while.

I did get things done and loaded the car for what I need tomorrow for the third Saturday MG training.  I made it home and got to water all the container plants.  It does take time to water!  I am grateful my family has been doing this task for me for the past few weeks.

Today my college roommate and good friend Cindy was on my mind a great deal.  cindy and thomas mar19.15.I wished I could have been with her today as she buried her husband–the love of her life.  He was only 50 years old, with no health problems, who died of a heart attack Sunday after mowing the lawn.  thomas cheatham.jun162This is just one more reminder that life is short, and we need to live it to the fullest.  Abraham Lincoln said it well when he said ” In the end, it’s not the years in your life that count. It’s the life in your years.” Cindy and Thomas shared a lot of life in the years they spent together, I just wish it could have been more.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

