Skip to content

A Very Laid Back Sunday

July 3, 2016
by

It has been a pretty intense few months, and I had NOTHING to do today, so I took it easy.  What a change of pace. I did laundry, some computer work, went to the grocery store and my first trip this season to a farmers market. I went to the Sunday Bernice Garden market, and it was packed. farmers market bernice gardens.july3 (1) farmers market bernice gardens.july3 (2) This market opens at 10 on Sunday and I am not sure when it ends. I got there about 11:30 and it was going strong with a food truck for lunch, but also many local restaurants open, so a lot of foot traffic.  They do a nice mix of vegetables, meats, eggs, cheese, bread and hummus.  I did buy heirloom tomatoes (I only planted cherry tomatoes early and while I have a ton, I don’t have any big ones yet), fresh corn–which was to die for, my first Arkansas peaches (we have yet to try them), and blackberries. vegetables (1) vegetables (2) There was  a great cut flower vendor who made small and large bouquets with a mix of blooms, but I got a bouquet of lisianthus, which are a wonderful cut flower that lasts a long time in a vase.

I was tempted to take a nap mid-day, but thought that might be taking the pace a bit too far, so I read a book instead. Tonight we had an all vegetable meal–no meats, no frittata, Quiche or pasta, just baked squash fritters, a caprese salad, fresh corn off the cob and homemade rye bread.  It was amazing.  vegetable dinner.july16  Clay made a homemade cobbler from the blackberries, and while sweeter than mine, it was still quite tasty. blackberry cobbler july (1)  I think that is why he opted to make it instead of me, to add extra sugar!

The only gardening I did today was watering and harvesting.  Tomorrow I hope to be a bit more productive and try to finish spreading rice hulls.

I do want to share a story sent to me via email.  You probably all know tomato hornworms, and how quickly they can decimate a tomato plant.  tomato hornworm sept.15.1

“I imagine you have never heard a story like this before-hope it gives you a chuckle. Last night I pulled a hornworm off a tomato plant. I brought it inside-wrapped it in a napkin, put the napkin in a candy wrapper and put it in the trash-a small plastic trash basket. I figured wrapping it in a napkin would deprive it of oxygen and it would suffocate. Was I wrong!!! This AM when I got up, what do I discover on my kitchen floor about 20 feet away from the trash basket, but a dead hornworm. I think maybe he smelled the tomatoes I had left in the kitchen sink and was trying to reach them. Lesson learned-next time I discover a hornworm, I will be sure to squeeze the life out of it.”

They are tenacious. I have a hard time killing things, so I try to throw them out to the birds to give them a treat. As large and cumbersome as they are, I have seen them hundreds of feet from where I have tossed them in the street, heading straight for my tomato plants again–so beware!tomato hornworm aug31.14.2

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

