Skip to content

A scorching Tuesday

July 5, 2016
by

Today felt like Monday all day long!  I was happy to be inside, since it was hot and humid outside.  When I got home around 5 I had some wilted plants, in spite of having watered.  I decided it was a bit too hot to be outside, so I turned on the sprinklers, and went inside to cook.  After cooking and cleaning up, I felt it was safe to go out and water, but it is still 88 degrees and my weather station says it feels like 100! at 8 p.m.–that is crazy. In looking ahead we have two days with a predicted high of 98.  I don’t even want to see my water bill!  Luckily for my family, I am in town and I get to do the watering.

I was tickled to see the second day of blooms on the Rangoon Creeper.  Yesterday they looked like this: rangoon creeper 1st blooms.jly4.162 and today like this: rangoon creeper day2.july5.162  Stunning!  I can’t wait to see it covered in blooms.

Who has ever grown a pineapple guava? I have had the plant now for 4 years and this year it was absolutely covered in these stunning blooms in the spring. pineapple guava.may11 (2) and now I have several dozen tiny fruits forming.  pineapple guava fruit.july4 (2)  They sure seem to be slow-growing but supposedly they aren’t ready until fall. I hope they get a bit larger.  If you have any insight, please share.

Everyone is talking about planting for pollinators, but while I have seen a few butterflies, I have fennel in full bloom, fennel blooms july5.162and loads of butterfly milkweed butterfly weed tropical.aug8.15.and NO caterpillars.  How about you? I don’t use any pesticides and have a wide array of flowers, but while I see bees of all sorts, very few butterflies.

I love some of the patterns we see in nature.  Look at the leaf pattern on this begonia–which overwintered in this pot, begonia hybrid.july16 and I think the seed pots on the lotus, coupled with those huge blooms is stunning.  lotus july4.16

I am harvesting several handfuls of cherry tomatoes and my eggplants and peppers are coming on strong.  eggplant july5.161 eggplant july5.162

The garden is a happening place these days as long as you are watering.  But work smart, get out their early or late, but try to have the foliage of your plants dry before sunset.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. B. Bartleson permalink
    July 5, 2016 8:17 pm

    Very few butterflies, no caterpillars and no humming birds

  2. Dale Webb permalink
    July 5, 2016 10:02 pm

    I, too, have fennel and milkweed and no caterpillars.

Leave a Reply

