Skip to content

Tweeting and gardening

August 15, 2016
by

I was told today that I was a bit “old school” for only blogging and posting on Facebook. Twitter I am told is where it is at! I have tweeted in the past–a total of 5 or 6 times in about 7 years, but today I have joined the Twitter world in a big way!  Twitter_2010_logo_-_from_Commons.svgIf you want to follow me there as well as here, then Like or follow: @janetjcarson     That is my twitter name!  I set this up about 7 years ago, so not quite sure why I didn’t have Janet B Carson, but oh well, it is what it is.

Today Julie and I weren’t tweedledee and tweedledum but tweet-ledee and tweet-ledum and dumb is most appropriate!  We don’t quite know what we are doing, but we are tweeting!   Supposedly I am linked between here, Facebook and twitter–and maybe Linked-in. This social media changes daily, and I think I am a day late and a dollar short in the process.

It is still amazing how much rain we are getting in August. It was pouring down this morning and a steady rain fell until mid-afternoon. I am up to over 2 1/2 inches in 3 days!  Not only are the figs splitting,fig brown turkey aug15 (3) but the few fruits I have left on the tomato plants have cracked beyond belief. tomatoes cracking aug15 (3)  What I would like to know is how do the ants know about this splitting fruit?  They are in raised beds or planters, the fruits are easily 4 feet in the air, yet the ants are finding them. The tomatoes were so bad, I just tossed them, and these were the first of the big-fruited varieties I have had.  Quite disappointing, but I do see more fruit setting.  What with the original high temps followed by torrential rains, our crop production is a bit diminished.  My poor okra has been vainly attempting to bloom, but stifled by the weather. okra first bloom aug15.16

The rain has also hindered potty training Petals. She doesn’t mind the slow rain, but the downpours have her staying inside.  She is also growing up and when it isn’t raining, she longs to explore every leaf, flower, twig and blade of grass, so outside time is not quick.  petals aug.5 (1)

On a happier note, I did get to see our adopted friend Tramps.  He is happy and settled in his new home and looks amazing.  What a happy ending!  tramp aug.16 He has been vetted, groomed and has taken over the household. One happy pet and a happy new “mom”.  I am so grateful they found each other.

So instead of “happy gardening” I will now end with happy tweeting!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

