Skip to content

Arkansas Diamond program and it is still raining!

August 16, 2016
by

I know it is hard to look a gift horse in the mouth (and where did that saying come from?!) but I am officially tired of rain!  In my yard we are up to almost 4 inches of rain in 4 days and guess what, it is STILL RAINING!  RAIN.AUG16  I leave with 36 Master Gardeners in two weeks for Cornwall and Wales, and I checked the forecast there and it is raining. Maybe we are in conditioning for our trip!  The forecast is for MORE rain the rest of this week in Arkansas, and I am not sure when it is supposed to stop.  I know as soon as it stops we will want more, but a little bit every week is preferable to a lot every day.  It will help water bills and many plants are thriving, but others are rotting.

My fish are in seventh heaven. I mentioned earlier that I had babies for the first time in the ponds history –and I have had it for 15 years or more. Every night when I feed the fish there are more and more of them. I think I have almost 30 babies and 4 adults. Not sure my pond can handle that many mature full-sized fish, nor why they are suddenly reproducing, but I like it for now. fish babies aug15 (1) fish babies aug15 (2)

This afternoon I met with the Arkansas Diamond Committee arkansas diamond display afgs (2)to plan our plant choices for 2017 and review the program for 2015 -16.  The Arkansas Diamond plants for 2016 are Graffiti Red Pentapentas graffiti red.16, Velvet Elvis Plectranthus plectranthus velvet elvis in pot.16and Srirachi Pink Cuphea. cuphea sriracha pink

Did you plant any of these three, and if so, how have they done?

These were added to the previous list of:

Redhead coleuscoleus redhead july16, yellow lantanalantana yellow, red dragonwing begonia, dragonwing begonia aug.16.15blue scaevolascaevola pittsburgh garden tour aug16.030 and cora cascade periwinkle.  periwinkle oct4.15 (2)How have these done in your gardens?

If you have thoughts on how the program worked or didn’t, how the plants grew–or didn’t, let me know.  The best way to make a program better is to find the flaws and fix them.

While we were in our meeting, one of the things we reviewed was the social media program. Once again, several mentioned that you can’t just rely on Facebook–which is what they did last year along with my article and the public displays.  Today it wasn’t Twitter that we needed but Instagram!  I have insta’d once or twice, but now I have doubled that number!  Who knows where this will end, but I will be connected.  I am tweeting, posting, blogging and I guess “gramming”?  I am also Linked-in, but not sure what that is all about, but I am there!  Whether anyone is seeing what I am doing is another story, but hopefully everything is all inter-connected in some way and we are getting the word out.

I decided to be creative with dinner tonight. Using the leftover roast chicken from Sunday, I made chicken vol au vent.  I took a sheet of puff pastry and made my own pastry cups, then filled it with a creamed chicken base–sort of like chicken-ala-king which I despise.  I added peas to Clay’s because he adores peas and chicken-ala-king.  It was actually quite tasty and Clay was thrilled.  puff pastry chicken (1) puff pastry chicken (2) puff pastry chicken (5) puff pastry chicken (6)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2016 10:23 pm

    Thanks for showing me and the diamond again!! I never found the plants available here.

  2. Bonnie Moody permalink
    August 16, 2016 10:32 pm

    I had one annual ‘velvet elvis’ last year and it bloomed its head off. I bought the Blue Diamond ones this year, believing them to be perennial. The four I planted in my garden have been very slow to grow…perhaps I need to amend my soil…but they are small and have very few blooms. Hopefully, they will produce better next year.

    • uamg permalink
      August 17, 2016 6:46 am

      Plectranthus Velvet Elvis is an annual unless we have an extremely mild winter. Light shade is best. Deep shade will lead to few blooms.

  3. Adair Dhority permalink
    August 21, 2016 10:31 pm

    Looking a gift horse in the mouth came from the horse and buggy days. When buying a horse, they would look at their teeth. This would tell you how old the horse really was in case the owner had misrepresented the horses age. Of course if you were being gifted with the horse his age was irrelevant.

    On Aug 16, 2016 9:33 PM, “In the Garden with Janet Carson” wrote:

    uamg posted: “I know it is hard to look a gift horse in the mouth (and where did that saying come from?!) but I am officially tired of rain! In my yard we are up to almost 4 inches of rain in 4 days and guess what, it is STILL RAINING! I leave with 36 Master Garden”

Leave a Reply

