Skip to content

Monday

August 22, 2016
by

This is my last week in the office for a while, and I have a lot of tasks to accomplish, so the day flew by. I have had two foreign trips where my camera died, so I am practicing with my GoPro camera as a backup, but it is definitely a learning curve, but I am sure I will have it mastered before I leave–or at least enough to function with. It also takes great video in a very compact size, even if I don’t have to use it for still pictures, I can capture some great video.

After lunch today I met with a team from the 2017 State MG

DCIM100GOPROGOPR0084.

DCIM100GOPROGOPR0085.

conference to work on merchandise and to plan our meetings for the rest of the  year.  I took these pictures with the Go Pro.  I also finished some last-minute reminders and mailouts to the MGs going on the Cornwall/Wales trip and knocked out a few more columns.  I am almost to the end of the columns I need to pre-write. If I write one or two a day I should be done by Wednesday or Thursday.

We are also getting a lot of calls on armyworms. They are decimating lawns and pastures across central Arkansas. Here is what the pest looks like:

armyWormDamage1 and here is a shot of the damage it can reap: armyworm damage

Products containing Sevin or carbaryl, or bifenthrin can control them, but the key is to catch them before the damage is too severe.

And speaking of lawn damage, I have seen numerous fairy rings all over the state, but finally could pull over and take a picture.  fairy ring aug16 (1) fairy ring aug16 (2)  Fairy rings produce white mushrooms in an almost complete circle.  With all the recent rainfall, the fruiting body of the fungus are these white mushrooms.  The organic matter fairy rings break down is often old tree stumps, roots,  and other larger pieces of organic material in the soil below the lawn. Once this material is depleted, the fairy ring will disappear, but it can take a while.  If your lawn is otherwise thrifty, I would not be too concerned.

This morning I got my weekly Monday motivational message from John O’Leary, and it spoke volumes.   “Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it’s the only thing that ever has.” – Margaret Mead 

To me that sums up Arkansas Master Gardeners to a tee!  I think they are changing the world in their home communities (and thus the world) on a daily basis.  Working together, and being inspired to make a difference is what they do, and I am so proud of all the accomplishments and dedication of our volunteers.  Keep doing what you are doing!  Arkansas is a better place because of what you do.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

