Skip to content

Back in the saddle!

September 13, 2016
by

While I can say that at this precise moment I am tired, I have gotten back into my home routine fairly easily.  I woke up at 3 a.m. on Monday morning, but managed to get back to sleep until 5:30 a.m. I made myself stay awake until 10 last night and didn’t wake up until 6 this morning, so my schedule is coming back.  I said goodbye to Bob Byers yesterday morning, walked my garden and picked some veggies and was at work by 9.  I got a column written, caught up on my schedule, mail and emails, and started on editing photos.  I had planned to make a light day, but didn’t leave until after 4.  I got groceries in, did all my laundry and fixed burgers for dinner with Clay and Katie–they did taste good.

Today we got more work done at the office before I went to the county office for a “speed-dating” type meeting with various committee heads for the state MG Conference. We had different committee chairs scheduled every 30 minutes or so and finished up about 5.  pulaski-county-planning-sept-1 pulaski-county-planning-sept-2  We are really ahead of schedule and things are coming together nicely.  Don’t forget to save the dates of May 21-23 for the State MG Conference. MG Conference 2017

On the way home I saw one of the prettiest skies. sky-and-clouds-1   We could use a drop of rain in my yard, but I did water plants last night and again tonight.  I also picked more okra.  I had my son for dinner tonight and fried okra was on the menu.  okra-sept-2  I am getting quite a few cucumbers, okra, peppers and a few tomatoes are lingering. I also still have some Swiss chard and kale, but they are looking pretty tired.  I have figs that are ripening, but many are setting new fruit. I will be surprised if they have time to ripen before  a frost.

I have heard from several of our late UK travelers. All 5 of the Fayetteville crew have made it home and the last of the LR group should be home tonight.  That just leaves 2 still exploring London.  img_4524

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

