Skip to content

A terrible, horrible, mixed up day!

September 18, 2016
by

I think there is a child’s book by this name, and today I lived it. I was awoken by an automated call from American Airlines at 4:30 a.m. informing me that my 8:00 a.m. flight today was rescheduled for tomorrow. I groggily made it into my home office and asked for customer service.  I think Miss Johnson must have had a bad morning too, because her customer service was lacking.  She told me I could go tomorrow or cancel my flight!  Not a lot of empathy or concern for me.  So I got in touch with Randy, and then logged on to find us seats for tomorrow, and alas, there were none that were not premium on flight one and only one premium or non on flight 2.  So again, I called customer service and this time talked to lovely Stephanie, who was so nice and apologetic and got me two seats from LR to Dallas and one confirmed from Dallas to Bozeman, with an assurance that the airlines were holding more.  SO hopefully Randy won’t have to ride in with the baggage.  My suitcase is on hold for another day.suitcase

Since I was up so early, I decided to be productive. It was too early to call the hotel and rental cars, so I did some laundry and went to Lowes when they opened.  The plan was to take the suburban and get a load of mulch and some fall veggies. When I went to get in the car, the key fob didn’t work, and neither did the car. Dead as a doornail.  So I decided to try car number 2. I decided if that one didn’t work then I was meant to stay in my house today, but it fired up fine and I was at Lowes and Home Depot with some new vegetable plants and a mum and home and in the garden quite early.  Not too many shoppers or drivers out and about on a Sunday morning.

I was in the midst of planting when it started thundering and then we got 1/2 inch of rain–a bright spot!

I came inside and did some computer work.  My printer quit printing, so Clay worked on it and it started, but he did something to the computer and it won’t open!  So I am relegated to the laptop.

A dear neighbor has moved into assisted living and today was the last day of the estate sale. I went to that and bought some of her art. She is a fabulous artist and I already own a few pieces, but added to it.  It was a bit sad seeing their home of so many years relegated to a bunch of stuff for strangers to buy, but I am pleased with my purchases.

By then the sun was shining and I finished planting, weeded a bit, and fertilized the vegetables and annuals.  I saw a lot of butterflies in the garden and found a few more caterpillars, but I also found the dreaded crape myrtle bark scale on my dwarf crape myrtle!  monarch-caterpillar2crape-myrtle-bark-scale-dwarf-sept181 crape-myrtle-bark-scale-dwarf-sept182

I was just talking about it during my workshop yesterday and said I had not seen it yet on any of the dwarves, and voila, here it is.  UGH!

I finally got around to calling the hotel and car rental agency to let them know I am a day late and a dollar short, and the hotel was lovely–I am sure I am paying for this day but oh well.  I could not get the car rental place to answer locally in Montana, so  the toll free number. They were more than happy to help, but informed me there were no cars for tomorrow! After an hour on the phone and 5 more customer representatives I finally got to talk to a lovely man in Montana.  Randy and I don’t have to walk from the airport to the hotel and we hopefully will have a nice car.

I am finishing the day with watering and will go out to a lovely dinner (cooked by my son) and to bed early.  Hoping for a great adventure tomorrow.  Pray that the travel gods are on my side tomorrow.

Montana or Bust!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2016 6:50 pm

    The title of the book is Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day by Judith Viorst

    • uamg permalink
      September 18, 2016 8:06 pm

      Of course, the librarian would know that but it does sum up my day. Happy now.

Leave a Reply

