Skip to content

Fall is here and plant bargains and exciting news.

September 30, 2016
by

I had a few stops to make on my way home from Ft. Smith but decided to stop in at the Lowe’s in Ft. Smith as I was leaving town this morning. Our secretary Holly is coming back from an extended leave on Monday, and we wanted to do something nice for the two secretaries who have been helping us in her absence. They were doing lunch at the office but I thought I would take them a mum back. I was at Lowe’s before the garden center gates were open but as I walked in the manager was opening the gate.  As he walked by me, he said “all trees, shrubs and roses are marked down today 75%!” and the 4 inch mums (which sell for about $5) are 2 for $5.  Well, what could I do, but shop for plants?   I did not have the time or space to take home too many plants,  (nor do I really need any) but I did get 3 thornless Apache blackberries and a grape vine, a knockout rose along with assorted shrubs, mums and a few pumpkins.  The grape vine will go to my son.

They needed to clear out space to make room for Christmas–and it is Sept. 30~  christmas-in-sept-1 christmas-in-sept-2

As I was leaving the parking lot, I called a few River Valley MGs to share the news, and heard they got some good bargains as well.   Big box stores have autonomy as to when they mark things down.  So check frequently with your stores and nurseries to see what bargains you may find.  Fall and winter color has arrived from pansies and violas, to flowering kale and cabbage. pansies-adams-greenhouse-mar15mums-15

Mums, asters and pumpkins are hitting the market with more coming daily.  Start adding fall color in your landscape.

It was a beautiful day for a drive.  I dropped off things at the office and headed home.  It was really dry in my yard. I think the cooler temperatures and low humidity coupled with little to no rain have made an impact on our gardens. I watered well and hopefully will have a little time in the garden this weekend.

I head to Brinkley in the morning for their Fall Festival Seminar which will be at the Brinkley First United Methodist Church Fellowship Hall, 404 W. Ash St., Corner of Ash and New York St.  Registration begins at 9 and I start speaking at 9:30 but they have a whole lineup of speakers through 2:00 p.m.  Lunch is included. Registration is $20 at the door.  Come join us. I am speaking on new plants.

Today we also are celebrating the engagement of our daughter Katie to her long-time boyfriend Ben. The ring came in and it is official. So happy for both of them.  katie-and-ben-engaged-sept30-3  Exciting times!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

