Skip to content

Brinkley, fall festivals and gardening1

October 1, 2016
by

It is fall and there is a festival or event each weekend. I left LR quite early sunrise-oct1-16and gave myself extra time because of the Razorback game. There were cars lined up before 7 a.m to begin tailgating!

Today was the annual fallfest in Brinkley but the Mgs’ opted to hold their celebration at a private church so they could also serve lunch. They had a great turnout from the community and beyond–I saw MGs from Whitehall, Ouachita County, White county and Craighead county in addition to local and neighboring counties. brinkley-fall-fest-oct1-16-5 brinkley-fall-fest-oct1-16-7 The small but mighty group of Monroe county volunteers did a fantastic job on decorations,brinkley-fall-fest-oct1-16-2 brinkley-fall-fest-oct1-16-4 brinkley-fall-fest-oct1-16-3 procuring speakers and hosting a topnotch event. This just proves that you don’t need a group of 100 or more to put on an event.  This tiny group has almost 100% attendance at events.  While it may be a small group, the group they have are all  hard workers and accomplishes more than many large counties.

I drove home and decided to stop in at friend and horticulturist’s Chris Olsen and Plantopia.  They had their own fall fest going on with lunch, plants an pumpkins plus special events for fall and winter. fall-plantopia-oct1-16-1 fall-plantopia-oct1-16-3 fall-plantopia-oct1-16-4

I say many MGs at this event also. I unloaded my car and ran some errands before finally making it home mid-afternoon. I was surprised at how dry some of my plants were. I decided to run a check on my sprinkler system.  waterineg-oct1-16 

I thought that some of my plants seemed awfully dry even with the sprinklers running. Part of the problem is that adjacent plants are preventing the water from getting through. I also think my water pressure has done down.  I did run hoses and water more of the gardens.

I also watered all the pots on the deck. I am so impressed with the tropicals that continue to bloom. goldfingers-oct1-16 iochroma-purple-oct1-16 jatropha-oct1-6 topical-hibiscus-oct1-16

While I have plenty of color, my garden could also use a little TLC right now. I did buy a few more veg transplants and some more mums. TIme to get planting!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Ralph Seay permalink
    October 2, 2016 4:30 pm

    Great seminar! Great presentations! Thank you so much for sharing with us all, Janet! You always provide relevant information and I/we appreciate it so much!

Leave a Reply

