Skip to content

Preparing for Thanksgiving

November 22, 2016
by

I had the day off today to prepare for the Thanksgiving festivities. My plan was to get things done in the two days leading up to the big day, but I have an out-of-town funeral to go to tomorrow, so I was on the fast track to get things done today.  I did get all the side dishes (2 sweet potatoes, green bean bundles deconstructed, and the gravy done today) thanksgiving-prep-nov-16-7 plus I cleaned the turkey thanksgiving-prep-nov-16-2and have all the components for the dressing ready.  Cooking with 4 dogs is always interesting, since at least three of them want to be right at my feet the entire time. thanksgiving-prep-nov-16-5

I gave them all bones so they would have something to occupy themselves with outside the kitchen.  Petals is almost fully recovered. It is amazing how fast dogs bounce back.  Humans would be laid up taking pain pill for weeks!

I also got the tables set up and the tables set so we are good to go. thanksgiving-prep-nov-16-1 I got one in the dining room and one in the living room plus an overage table.  I have between 16 and 18 coming so I am prepared.

I also got an email from Benton County last night showing me the plaque they have installed next to the tree that they planted at Compton Gardens in honor of my Dad.  plaque-for-dads-tree

This is so special, and I am moved by their thoughtfulness. I can’t wait to see it one day in person.

I have so much to be thankful for!  While we all try to count our blessings on Thanksgiving, I am thankful daily for all that  I have–a great family and network of friends, the best job you could ask for and the most wonderful volunteers to work with.  And let’s not forget my dogs!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

