Skip to content

Rain, cool weather and work

November 28, 2016
by

If you were paying attention to the weather last night we had ferocious winds.  My cleaned off deck and yard look like we never did a thing–they are absolutely blanketed by leaves, and there are still leaves left in the tree, which is pretty impressive.  We also finally got some rain and from the sound of it I thought we were getting quite the shower, but I only had .22 inches in my yard.  Not that I am complaining, we really needed it.

It was a good day to spend in the office catching up and getting things planned.  The Horticulture Industry Show is in Fayetteville this year on January 13 & 14.  It is only a half day on Saturday.  You can do a full registration or one day only.  Here is a link to the website http://www.hortindustriesshow.org/ with the complete program and registration link.  You can now register on-line. We have a great line-up in the MG/Public Garden Section, but there are excellent speakers in all the commodities. You can come and go to each session as you please.

I also have almost all our A to P locations signed up and am working on the programs for those and another new event in March, with details to come.  It has been a productive and busy day.

I am not the only one working hard.  Here is the Van Buren County MG entry for the Festival of Trees in Fairfield Bay this year which is  Nov 28 -Dec 2.  The theme is gardening for the Birds. They incorporated small bird paintings., gilded pressed leaves, hydrangea blossoms, bird books and figures.van-buren-co-tree-16 van-buren-co-xmas-tree-16Their tree looks great!

I received a special advent calendar in the mail today from Burpee’s.  burpee-advent-calender-16-2

While many of these similar calendars have a piece of candy or trinket behind each door, this one has a seed packet from their new 2017 introductions.  I had to peek and opened December 3 since that is a Saturday and I won’t be at the office! burpee-advent-calender-16-1  Someone is extremely clever in their marketing department.  What a great idea! I can’t wait to see what is behind each door.  Much better than a piece of candy any day.

Then tonight Julie and I took Holly out to dinner to celebrate her birthday.  We had a great visit and a wonderful meal. holly-birthday-dinner-16-2 holly-birthday-dinner-16-3  I finished up there and met the whole family at Home Depot to pick up redecorating supplies for major projects at both houses. Late evening is the time to shop at Home Depot–there were no crowds.   I finally made it home and got several packages in the mail.  It is going to be exciting every day since I did a lot of online shopping instead of fighting crowds on Black Friday.  Some of them are already even wrapped which I adore, since I loathe gift-wrapping.  Gift bags were invented just for me I think. So now we have presents under the tree and it is not even December 1!  I amaze myself some days! LOL!

One gift I had to give early to my son so he can wear it frequently this holiday season!  kyle-christmas-suit-16  I do love the holiday season!

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Joyce Hutchinson permalink
    November 29, 2016 6:28 am

    Janet, Love, you amaze me EVERY day…wishing you an awesome holiday season. 🎄

Leave a Reply

