Skip to content

Horticulture retreat, Mt. Magazine and home

December 21, 2016
by

For the past two days the horticulture faculty from Fayetteville campus and the LR State Office met at Mt. Magazine, primarily to discuss the course offerings at the UA in the horticulture department, but also to share what we are doing and get to know each other better. We have three new faculty members this year so it was a nice time to connect.  hort-retreat-mt-mag-16-1 hort-retreat-mt-mag-16-2 hort-retreat-mt-mag-16-3 hort-retreat-mt-mag-16-4 hort-retreat hort-retreat2

The lodge is a beautiful setting for a meeting and it was all decked out for the holidays.  We woke up to a gorgeous sunrise and the vistas were amazing. hort-retreat-mt-mag-16-5 hort-retreat-mt-mag-16-6  It warmed up considerably both at the lodge and at home. It got up to 65 degrees and looking ahead it appears we will be above freezing for the rest of the week. I uncovered vegetables when I got home and everything survived, but they are pretty dry. Tomorrow I hope to water them well, even though we are supposed to get some rain on Friday.

As I was out inspecting the garden I saw a package at my front door. A friendly elf had brought me by a present. I had commented that I like Pat’s necklace on facebook and she bought me one!  What a pleasant surprise, and is it not festive?!holiday-necklace-2-1 holiday-necklace-2-3

I am officially off now for the holidays, but I will have a little writing to do before I got back, but I will do it from home so that is not a bad thing.

One Comment leave one →
  1. aowings2012 permalink
    December 21, 2016 6:08 pm

    Envious of your alls cooperative efforts and get togethers….keep plotting and planning and planting…..

Leave a Reply

