Skip to content

Happy New Year 2017!

January 1, 2017
by

It has been a nice holiday season and I have thoroughly enjoyed my time off. I have one more day before I start back to work.  I have not been posting, because I have been busy around the house. I have cleaned closets, organized cabinets, and done some deep cleaning.  I have also had time to go out to lunch with family and friends, done some shopping and some entertaining.  Last night was our last entertaining of the year–an impromptu dinner party for New Years Eve.  I sous-vided a beef tenderloin and used my new “browning” gadget once it was cooked. sous-vide-beef-tenderloin-dec-166 sous-vide-beef-tenderloin-dec-163The meat was so tender, and we had a great meal with help from our attendees. new-years-16-3  We had a great time visiting but they were party poopers and left before midnight.  Clay and I stayed up to watch the ball drop and eat our good-luck herringimg_0146 before making it to bed about 1:00 a.m.  Pickled herring is something that my parents always had at the stroke of midnight for good luck.  We still continue the tradition even though we think the herring is pretty disgusting.

Today I spent from 9 a.m. until 5 p.m. taking down Christmas. My house looks forlorn!  Before: new-years-16-1 After: new-years-16-4

Clay and the kids got it all up in the attic, and took down most of the outside stuff too.

After all that, I had to cook our egg rolls. Another Biermann tradition is pork and cabbage, plus black-eyed peas for Clay. img_0147 So I make egg rolls egg-rolls-16-1every New Years day with pork, cabbage–and I throw in some herring and black-eyed peas, since the kids did not get any of either last night.  egg-rolls-16-2You can’t taste the latter with all the seasoning, but they should still have good luck.  Egg rolls are not difficult, but time-consuming. I made a bunch, since my family likes them left over as well as fresh. Kyle used to take the extras home and sell them to his friends for $1 a piece!

The sapsucker continues to feast upon the loropetalum almost daily. img_0142  She was there when I made coffee this morning and she was still there when I was beginning to make egg rolls at 5:30.  I wonder what she sees in this plant!

Looking back I have written 312 posts in 2016, taken over 7500 daily photos (not counting those I took in Cornwall/Wales which would put it over the 8500 mark) and we now have over 2700 followers.  I hope you enjoy reading this as much as I enjoy writing it!   Let’s hope 2017 is a banner year!

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Wanda Madera permalink
    January 1, 2017 10:02 pm

    I enjoy your posts tremendously. I envy your energy & knowledge. Keep posting.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Diane Fagan permalink
    January 2, 2017 10:13 am

    Janet, I do enjoy reading your posts. And the pictures are a wonderful accompaniment. Love the continuing saga of the sapsucker and your sense of humor. Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

