Skip to content

Getting back to normal

February 7, 2017
by

I can’t say I am completely back to normal, but getting there. I do not know how people travel internationally on a regular basis crossing back and forth through major time zones. I am trying to get into a regular sleep schedule again but I was up at 3 a.m. on Sunday and my dogs got me up at 2 a.m. Monday and I couldn’t fall back to sleep. I had columns written and email done by 4 a.m.  Pretty productive, but I was a zombie by mid-afternoon.  I did work a more than full day since I made it to the office early and stayed late.  Catch-up on work and sleep takes time.

Registration is coming along at a brisk pace for the state MG conference.  Right now we are still in the active MG, Lifetime and County Agent only status for registration which extends through next Friday.  After that, sustainers, guests and new trainees can register.  It is going to be a fantastic conference and you don’t want to miss out.  Registration information is on the MG only site which does require a password.  MG Conference 2017

I am also working on finalizing Powerpoint for this weekends talks–MG training in Jonesboro on Saturday, but then I speak at ASU campus on Sunday afternoon to the public, sponsored by the Jonesboro Garden Club. If you are near Jonesboro, I will speak at 2 p.m. Sunday at the auditorium in the ag building.

Our travelers have gone through a variety of seasons in a matter of weeks. We left with pretty mild conditions and headed into summer, passing through winter in Korea.  We spent a couple of weeks back in summer, then headed back to winter, and now it feels like spring. I awoke to spring-like temps and lightning and thunder.  Today is scheduled to get to almost 80 degrees and it is early February!  Plants are popping out everywhere.  The flowering quince are in full bloom.flowering-quince-feb6-2 flowering-quince-feb6-4 I saw open blooms on tulip magnolias with many buds showing color. tulip-magnolia-feb6-17 along with daffodils daffodils-feb16-2and crocus in bloom.crocus-feb12-1

I was surprised to see a bridalwreath spirea in bloom already though. spirea-feb6-17 It is a poorly pruned example.  After it finishes flowering it needs to be rejuvenated with 1/3 of the canes thinned out at the base.  If this warm weather continues even more plants are going to be blooming.  Have you looked at your big leaf hydrangeas? I have seen leaves sprouting on many already.  If we have any severely cold winter weather down the road, we could be in trouble. Let’s hope our winter weather is behind us, but it is awfully early in the season.  Keep your fingers crossed!

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sue Lopez permalink
    February 7, 2017 6:56 am

    My name is Sue Lopez.  I am an artist.  I  would like to paint one of the sunrise pictures you took on your trip, if that is OK with you.  It had pinks and mauves in the sky and water with dark shadows.   It was just beautiful.SueSupish@sbcglobal.net

    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®4

    • uamg permalink
      February 7, 2017 7:08 am

      Of course! I would love to see the finished product. The sunrise and sunsets were pretty amazing.

Leave a Reply

