Skip to content

The Dreaded Dentist and Work

February 8, 2017
by

I try not to spend much time in dentist’s offices–once every 10 years or so would be fine by me, but before the holidays I cracked a tooth. I went to check on it before I left the country and he assured me I was fine to go on the trip and I would have no problems from the tooth,  and he would start the crown once I got back, so yesterday morning I was at the dentists at the crack of dawn.  Technology has increased light years from the old ways. Instead of biting down on those paper x-ray things, they now scan your mouth tooth-xrayand poof the pictures are on the computer screen. Instead of taking those yucky molds of your tooth to make the crown, they now have a machine that scans your teethscanner and gives you an exact replica of your jaw with teeth in place! tooth-technologyThey then can email your picture (this is not mine) and the crown is ready in a week.  But regardless of the new technology, I still hate getting a shot in my mouth–they need to come up with a solution for that–and I had forgotten how much I hate the sound of the drill. dental-drill In spite of my dread, I was in and out in quick time and back at the office.   A friend of mine in Louisiana did not have as pleasant an experience. He was getting two crowns and they were midway through when the tornado sirens went off and the entire office had to evacuate to a shelter below the office. The tornado went right over the building, but luckily did not touch down where they were.  After a considerable wait, they went back to the office to finish up, and for some procedures they had to start with more shots!  There were numerous tornadoes in Louisiana yesterday with several that did some damage.  The weather is weird all over our country.  We had record highs yesterday in Little Rock, with a record high low as well.  Everyone is talking about how far ahead of schedule we are–2-4 weeks across the south.

There are azaleas in peak bloom in Louisiana, and this Ozark witchhazel at the Botanical Gardens of the Ozarks is already blooming. ozark-witchhazel

I am headed to Garvan Gardens this afternoon to tape television spots. We chose the afternoon a month ago so it would be warm enough to tape–I don’t think we needed to have worried.  I can’t wait to see how far along the gardens are with this warm weather.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sue Thompson permalink
    February 8, 2017 6:22 pm

    When are the tv spots broadcast?

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • uamg permalink
      February 9, 2017 2:18 pm

      On Channel 11 KTHV between 7 & 8 a.m. on Saturdays.

Leave a Reply

