Skip to content

Doubletree & back to spring

February 11, 2017
by

This morning our planning team for the 2017 MG conference was slated to meet at the Doubletree to see the renovations of the hotel and Robinson Center. We scheduled it for the morning to get in and out. What we didn’t plan for were hundreds of school kids and buses arriving at the same time for a performance in Robinson Center.  Parking was a zoo so we were a tad delayed in our start time.  The renovations really look good from the open lobbydoubletree-feb-2 doubletree-feb-3 to expanded registration area and then the view from our dining rooms in Robinson are amazing!doubletree-feb-6 doubletree-feb-10 doubletree-feb-12

We looked at the various routes we will be directing people from one event to the other doubletree-feb-9 doubletree-feb-13

and looked at the locations for our speakers, plant holding, etc. doubletree-feb-14 doubletree-feb-17

The art and garden fair has a lot of room.doubletree-feb-16 doubletree-feb-15

Mid-afternoon I decided to get my oil changed for the travels today, but since it was such a pretty spring-like day I guess everyone took off early and all of the places were packed with over an hour wait everywhere. I hope to slip in and out this morning before I head to Jonesboro.  I also saw 4 wrecks in Little Rock.  It was crazy outside–looked like Christmas traffic. This spring-like weather has people loopy!

I hope you stepped outside last night to see the moon. It was amazing and I apologize the picture is not better, but a car parked right in front of me as I went to shoot this and I tried to zoom in to avoid car lights.  moon-feb10-17  Last night’s full moon is known as a “snow moon”.  The snow moon is an old nickname from days when native American tribes gave nicknames to each month’s full moon to help keep track of the years and the seasons.  Since in a normal season, February is usually the snowiest time of the year, it was called snow moon.  This year it could be called early spring moon!  We also had a penumbral lunar eclipse last night.  That means that the  outer shadow of Earth falls on the moon’s face. I am not sure I saw much of it, since it is not easy to see.  At best, at mid-eclipse, very observant people will notice a dark shading on the moon’s face.  Regardless, it was a beautiful moon, on a once again, mild evening. We slept with our windows open again–in FEBRUARY!

Last night we also attended the retirement party of our friend Lynn. lynn-c-retirement-1 lynn-c-retirement-2 I am getting to that age where more and more of my friends are retiring–and they seem so happy. I will join their ranks in 2 years–the end of 2018!  A fun time was had by all.

This morning I head to Jonesboro for MG training this afternoon, then I spend the night to speak tomorrow for their Horticulture Garden Club sponsored program open to the public.  This free event is at ASU College of Agriculture & Technology Building, Room 203 lecture hall (off University Loop, at the building with the double greenhouses) at 2 p.m. I will speak on native plants.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

