Skip to content

Clean-up and Mena

February 27, 2017
by

I started the day early by loading my car with all I could from our display at the statehouse convention center. We had quite a few Extension folks loading up and we got it cleaned up. I unloaded my car, cleaned up and packed a bag, then headed to the office. I had a few meetings and then I was on the road by 2 heading to Mena for a gardening program tonight. I got to Mena with 45 minutes to spare and decided to drive the 15 miles to Queen Wilhamena state park to check in before the program. I had not been to the park since it was renovated and since I don’t have to be in Ft. Smith tomorrow until the afternoon, i figured I could explore a bit in the morning. Bad idea! I had not gotten 3 miles into the trek before fog set in. At first it wasn’t bad, but it quickly turned into pea soup. 

I slowed down and concentrated and then there were deer crossing the road! All in all I had 6 cross in front of me and saw more on the edge of the road. I finally came to a juncture with another road and could turn around and head back. It took me an hour and I didn’t even make it to the lodge. I drove slowly and honked periodically to warn the deer I was coming. Luckily I didn’t hit any, but was releived when I got closer to town and out of the fog.  By the time I finished speaking tonight it was misty/foggy even in town, which is where I stayed. The park will have to wait for another day!

I did meet with some of the MGs with their rose garden project before the meeting. 

We had a good turnout for the seminar and we had a great discussion. They have a fabulous meeting room at their county office.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

