Skip to content

Chaos

April 1, 2017
by

Chaos was the law of nature; Order was the dream of man is a quote by Henry Adams but here is one from Janet Carson:
Chaos is the nature of a kitchen remodel; order is the dream of Janet Carson!  When I arrived home last night, the house was in turmoil. I have been trying to keep one step ahead of the kitchen remodel, putting everything I need in places I can find them. My cleaning ladies thought they would help me out by finishing the task, but there was no rhyme to their reason!  I was a bit stressed, but I got over it, once I put things where I wanted them. It took awhile and while it still looks like chaos, I know where everything is!   It is somewhat amazing how much stuff one can fit in one kitchen, but having to clean out the dining room too to make way for walls being knocked down, I had a major undertaking.  But it is all done and Clay has had a fun day of knocking out walls. 

I am beginning to envision what I am going to have eventually.  It should be done in two months, so I can live with that.

Besides emptying out cabinets and china hutches, and organizing space for refrigerators, crystal and more, I did find a bit of time to do some gardening outside.  I pulled some weeds, planted some new summer color and harvested some winter vegetables.  The vegetable gardens are looking pretty good. 

Once again, my left over pumpkin is sprouting like crazy. I hope I get a few pumpkins like I did last year! 

Clay and I were happy to have an excuse to stop working late this afternoon to clean up to go to a party tonight at the Russel’s.  We had a fabulous time (not working) but also visiting with friends and having an outstanding meal. 

Tomorrow rain and storms are predicted later in the day. I could use the moisture, but not the storms. I am speaking at my church in the afternoon on container gardening.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. jackie walker permalink
    April 2, 2017 4:47 pm

    I feel your pain. I got the hiccups when I read about your kitchen remodel. We did it a few years ago. I was almost ready to run away from home. However … It was so worth it. The day we came home and the cabinets were in and painted was glorious. Double glorious when the counters were in. And because we were there to supervise etc. we were able to get some solid surface window sills put in at little additional cost. Love my kitchen.

    Jackie

    • uamg permalink
      April 2, 2017 5:52 pm

      Thanks! I can’t wait to see the finished product.

Leave a Reply

